RSS Feed

Creamy Lemon Chicken With Bacon

The other night, I celebrated my little anniversary and had a lovely dinner for the occasion. On the cover of the March issue of  Family Circle , there is a visually appealing meal and I knew I just had to make it. Normally, Family Circle does not include low carb recipes, so I didn’t get my hopes up as I flipped through to the recipe. After reading the nutritional value of this meal I was surprised to see that it was in fact low carb! I was ecstatic! :D With only 7 grams of carbs and 225 calories per serving, this recipe can fit any lifestyle.

Here it is:

photo (19)

Now, I made the mistake of not reading the entire recipe list before making this and I failed to buy lemon pepper. I don’t know how that effected the taste, but I think my version, without the lemon pepper, turned out delicious. You can skip the lemon pepper or you can add it — I’m confident it’ll be good either way. Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch thin asparagus, trimmed
  • 4 slices of bacon, cut into 3/4-inch pieces
  • 1 pkg (24 oz) Italian-style chicken breast cutlets (such as Perdue Perfect Portions) or 1 pkg plain chicken breast cutlets plus 1/2 tsp lemon pepper
  • freshly ground pepper, to taste
  • 1 can (14.5 oz) reduced-sodium chicken broth
  • 2 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1 (small) lemon, cut into wedges

Directions:

  1. Heat 1/2 inch of water in a skillet. Add asparagus and cook 2 minutes. Drain and rinse in cool water to stop cooking.
  2. Meanwhile, cook bacon in a large heavy skillet over medium heat until crisp, 8 minutes. Remove to paper towels. Discard all but 1 tbsp of the drippings.
  3. Season chicken with black pepper (I also seasoned it with Adobo). If using plain chicken (I did), sprinkle with lemon pepper (I didn’t). Cook chicken in hot drippings over medium heat for 3 minutes. Turn over and cook 4 minutes more. Remove chicken from skillet.
  4. Whisk together broth and flour. Add to skillet and bring to a simmer, stirring. Add chicken and asparagus. Cook 2 to 3 minutes over medium-low heat until chicken is cooked through (165°)* and asparagus is warm. Squeeze lemon wedges over dish and sprinkle with bacon.

Nutrient Details:

  • Servings: 5
  • Calories: 225
  • Fat: 6 g
  • Cholesterol: 83 mg
  • Sodium: 661 mg
  • Carbohydrates: 9 g
    • Dietary Fiber: 2 g
    • Sugars: N/A
  • Protein: 31 g

This recipe can stand alone as is. You do not need to pair it with anything. I love my greens so I paired it with a small salad, but I would not have minded mashed cauliflower or even mashed potatoes. I loved the lemon flavor and the bacon brought everything together. It seriously made this dish. I’m a huge fan of asparagus, but if you’re not, that’s fine. The asparagus is not essential to this recipe and I like that flexibility. If you choose to remove the asparagus, the total carb will go down.

photo (20)

 

Please, please make this! We had this and there were no leftovers! If you choose to make this, please let me know what you think and if you did anything differently. The only thing I’d change is the quantity of bacon. Somehow, four pieces just didn’t seem like enough. I mean it’s bacon! :D I’d make this with no less than 5 slices next time.

 

Until next time,

Carolina

 

 

*I did this in step three and just cooked the chicken and asparagus until warm.

About carolinafitness

Determined to succeed so that I can live the healthy and happy life that I know I'm capable of. Everything else there is to know about me will be aired in the blog with time.

19 responses »

  1. Looks delicious AND easy to make. I’ll give this a whirl this weekend. Thanks for the recipe!

    Reply
  2. That looks great! My husband and children love bacon, so I will try it soon and take your suggestion of adding extra bacon.

    Reply
  3. Reblogged this on Ideas by Katherine and commented:

    Just wanted to share this wonderful recipe!!

    Reply
  4. Yummy, yummy for my TUMMY!!!!I’ll take 2 please:-)

    Reply
  5. Wow this looks delicious! If I do move to US you´re going to have to invite me over for a dinner! :)

    Reply
  6. Looks yummy, i love chicken

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Better March | Newfound FITNESS

Share your thoughts

That Self Indulgent Bitch!

Stupid crap nobody really cares about but ME!

hearts on sleeves club

If you wear your heart on your sleeve, join the club.

lucky1fulk

I am a Mom of 3, a Photographer, a Baker and trying to lose 108 pounds by December 2014 for my 5th Anniversary trip to New York City to watch the ball drop in time square. come joine me, any questions don't hesitate to ask.

Covered in Beer

by Thomas Cochran. Just another idiot on the Internet...Great.

BURN BRIGHT

writer, editor, singer, runner, and eater. the essentials.

Signatures & Introductions

A blog of names, name meanings, and appellation ruminations

gratefulrick

My journey to being myself.

Hardcore Health X

No excuses. Plenty of heart. All hands on deck. You can also check out my other blog, rattlingicecubes.wordpress.com

Amanda's Trip to Fit

From fat to fit, with some head shrinking along the way!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 289 other followers

