RSS Feed

Depression in Fitness

I won’t go in-depth about who I am in this post, but let’s just say that this is not my first rodeo. And that’s the thing I want to put out there, you can fail as many times as it takes to succeed.

Earlier this year, I started a lifestyle change that included healthy eating and regular exercise in a gym. I felt great! I felt alive. I enjoyed every second of the four months that I was at the helm of my destiny. I couldn’t get enough–until I did. I felt so empty inside. What had once made me feel powerful and capable now made me feel weak and inadequate. First, I struggled with the gym. I couldn’t keep up with my weekly four hours anymore. Then I couldn’t hold on to the healthy eating. I saw my ship sail on without me.

April was my darkest month. No words of encouragement could shake me out of the melancholy that had overcome me. I recall crying at a restaurant, as I tried to explain to my sister, the overwhelming sadness that had suddenly possessed me. I manifested all the courage I had and told her that I couldn’t continue. I was depressed. My environment was saturated with pressure and unrealistic expectations from outside sources. I wasn’t aware of any of it until many months later, but I felt it. There was no way that I was going to come out alive having been so oblivious to it.

My ship sank. In my head I had failed–there’s no other way to put that. I let my sister, who was my unconditional support system and exercise buddy, and myself down. It’s taken a lot of personal growth and forgiveness to come to the realization that it wasn’t my fault. Depression is a very real threat to any endeavor. It can come from anywhere and last as long as it wants. I have no health insurance, so I had to go through it by myself with no medicinal help. It was tough. Eventually, my depression led to panic attacks* that culminated with a visit to the hospital. I have never been more afraid in my life than when I was suffering through those attacks. A sympathetic touch from a loved one became invaluable to me.

In mid-September, I was finally able to overcome my personal demons–to a degree. In all this time, I had maintained my weight, but I’d fluctuate more than about five pounds up or down. By October, I felt almost invincible. I ate whatever I wanted because until this point I had. Unfortunately, it started to catch up to me. A month later, I was up an additional 15-20 pounds. I didn’t recognize myself. I finally reached my breaking point. I had to stop and reclaim myself. So yesterday I decided that enough is enough. I have used up my last excuse. I plan to continue with my healthy lifestyle and hopefully encourage and empower a person or two to do the same.

Until next time,

Carolina

*I was not diagnosed with a panic disorder and tests from the hospital visit were inconclusive. This is my own self-diagnosis. I’m not a doctor, but once I started treating the symptoms of panic attacks, they went away.

About carolinafitness

Determined to succeed so that I can live the healthy and happy life that I know I'm capable of. Everything else there is to know about me will be aired in the blog with time.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Weigh-In Wednesday Week 03 | Newfound FITNESS

  2. Pingback: A Year From Now | Newfound FITNESS

  3. Pingback: STMC2014 Bio- CarolinaFitness | Newfound FITNESS

Share your thoughts

That Self Indulgent Bitch!

Stupid crap nobody really cares about but ME!

hearts on sleeves club

If you wear your heart on your sleeve, join the club.

My Fat Will Not Define Me

I am a Stay at Home Mom of 3, a Photographer, Trying to get to my Goal weight by my 29th Birthday. Come join me, any questions don't hesitate to ask.

Covered in Beer

by Thomas Cochran, Known Moron

BURN BRIGHT

writer, editor, singer, runner, and eater. the essentials.

Signatures & Introductions

A blog of names, name meanings, and appellation ruminations

gratefulrick

My journey to being myself.

Hardcore Health X

No excuses. Plenty of heart. All hands on deck. You can also check out my other blog, rattlingicecubes.wordpress.com

Amanda's Trip to Fit

From fat to fit, with some head shrinking along the way!

