RSS Feed

Saying No

Let’s be honest–saying ‘no’ is one of the hardest things about being healthy. It’s understood that the end result is worth it, but in that moment when something is available, it’s difficult to resist.

Last night, I went grocery shopping with my sister and cousin. My sister knows about my return to a healthy lifestyle, but my cousin does not. This cousin started suggesting a lot of foods that would sabotage everything I’m trying to achieve. Thankfully, I was able to stay strong and tell her that those things would not be bought. I felt good. I haven’t felt like this since March. I feel like I finally slayed a major demon of mine. Mind over matter has never meant more than in those moments. Of course, if we stumble or even fall, it’s okay. I refuse to beat myself (or a workout buddy) up over a small lapse. The way I see it, it’s all about coming back better and stronger than ever. Eventually, it does get easier. Instead, I bought the things in the following picture:

photo (1)

Keep reading to see what I bought and to find out what I made with some of the products shown.

  1. Bananas*
  2. Green seedless grapes
  3. Voskos Plain Greek Yogurt
  4. Dannon Light & Fit Greek Yogurt–Toasted Coconut Vanilla
  5. Yoplait Greek Blended Yogurt–Strawberry Raspberry and Pineapple
  6. Avocado
  7. Tomato
  8. Marketside–Baby Spinach
  9. Marketside–Mixed Spring Salad
  10. Dole–Iceberg Lettuce
  11. 100% Whole Wheat bread
  12. Sargento–Ultra Thin Sliced Provolone Cheese
  13. Sargento–Ultra Thin Sliced Colby-Jack Cheese
  14. Weight Watchers–Whipped Reduced Fat Cream Cheese Spread
  15. Frigo Cheese Heads–Light String Cheese
  16. 100% Egg Whites
  17. Little Lender’s–Plain Bagels
  18. Oscar Mayer Deli Fresh–Slow Roasted Roast Beef
  19. Oscar Mayer The One Pounder–Oven Roasted Shaved White Turkey
  20. Chicken Breast
  21. Perdue–Fresh Ground Turkey
  22. Butterball–Thin & Crispy Turkey Bacon, Original

I know some of the things I bought are not exactly the pillars of healthy food, but they are a lot better than most of the things I’d normally buy. It’s all about living and learning. I do expect to make better selections and I’m open to any suggestions.

With the ground turkey, lettuce, tomato, plain yogurt, and avocado (my added touch) I made the Skinnytaste.com Turkey Taco Lettuce Wraps. They are delicious. I’m not much of a cook, but I can follow a recipe pretty well and these are so easy to make. These are very popular with my family when I make them. Not enough can be said about them. In case it’s not clear, I do recommend making these and visiting her website. She has hundreds of recipes, many that I will make and share here. Speaking of sharing, sorry for not providing any pictures of the taco wraps. We were really hungry and didn’t bother to take any, but there is one on the recipe page.

Until next time,

Carolina

*Anything without a link was a generic product from Wal-Mart or did not have a brand name.

 

About carolinafitness

Determined to succeed so that I can live the healthy and happy life that I know I'm capable of. Everything else there is to know about me will be aired in the blog with time.

2 responses »

  1. Thanks for the shoutout! I’ll be following along – you’re a great writer and easy to follow along. P.S. I’m glad the wraps turned out well. I’ve been eyeing them for a while!

    Reply
    • Thank you for the kind words–it means a lot. I’m so glad that you will be following me throughout my journey. I appreciate it. Oh, and those wraps are too good. I hope I’ve convinced you to give them a try. You will not regret it.

      Reply

Share your thoughts

That Self Indulgent Bitch!

Stupid crap nobody really cares about but ME!

hearts on sleeves club

If you wear your heart on your sleeve, join the club.

My Fat Will Not Define Me

I am a Stay at Home Mom of 3, a Photographer, Trying to get to my Goal weight by my 29th Birthday. Come join me, any questions don't hesitate to ask.

Covered in Beer

by Thomas Cochran, Known Moron

BURN BRIGHT

writer, editor, singer, runner, and eater. the essentials.

Signatures & Introductions

A blog of names, name meanings, and appellation ruminations

gratefulrick

My journey to being myself.

Hardcore Health X

No excuses. Plenty of heart. All hands on deck. You can also check out my other blog, rattlingicecubes.wordpress.com

Amanda's Trip to Fit

From fat to fit, with some head shrinking along the way!

