RSS Feed

Planning Ahead

Want to make eating healthy easier? Plan your meals ahead of time. It’ll save you time and money. Each Friday, I decide what I’ll want for the next week.  That same day, I go out and buy the things I need. On Saturday I start prepping by chopping up veggies and whatever else can be done ahead. On Sunday, I cook a lot of chicken with a simple seasoning that can go with anything. I dice the chicken up to add in salads or wraps throughout the week. I’ll also make soups if they’re on my menu for the upcoming week(s). The soup gets pre-portioned out and thrown into my freezer. The day before I have the soup, I lower it to the refrigerator to thaw. Then an hour or half hour before I’m due to eat, I reheat it. So easy. There’s not much better than being able to eat a healthy, home cooked meal with little effort. I know, Sundays will be hectic, but it’s only one day. It pays off because you have no excuse to go out and eat junk throughout the week. Plus, if you have children or a significant other, you can make it a family affair.

Remember, do whatever it takes to make this lifestyle as simple as possible. You will be challenged every day with life in general, there is no need to add to that. Also, the freezer is your friend. You can store precooked meals or pre-chopped veggies with little to no effect on the quality and/or taste. Be your own key to success by planning and being organized.

 

Until next time,

Carolina

Picture: Source

About carolinafitness

Determined to succeed so that I can live the healthy and happy life that I know I'm capable of. Everything else there is to know about me will be aired in the blog with time.

2 responses »

  1. Great advice, Carolina. An excuse that I hear often, and that I’ve used, was that there wasn’t anything to eat. That justifies falling off of the wagon and eating poorly. As you say, just take the time to plan your meals. It pays off with less expense (cheaper and healthier than eating fast foods), and takes the though process off of eating and getting on with the day.

    Reply
    • Thank you, Rob. I’m right there with you. I’ve used the excuse of being too tired or not in the mood to cook before. The monotony of preparing three meals every day can get to you. This is a “cheat sheet” for those who want to be healthy, but still like convenience.

      Reply

Share your thoughts

That Self Indulgent Bitch!

Stupid crap nobody really cares about but ME!

hearts on sleeves club

If you wear your heart on your sleeve, join the club.

My Fat Will Not Define Me

I am a Stay at Home Mom of 3, a Photographer, Trying to get to my Goal weight by my 29th Birthday. Come join me, any questions don't hesitate to ask.

Covered in Beer

by Thomas Cochran, Known Moron

BURN BRIGHT

writer, editor, singer, runner, and eater. the essentials.

Signatures & Introductions

A blog of names, name meanings, and appellation ruminations

gratefulrick

My journey to being myself.

Hardcore Health X

No excuses. Plenty of heart. All hands on deck. You can also check out my other blog, rattlingicecubes.wordpress.com

Amanda's Trip to Fit

From fat to fit, with some head shrinking along the way!

