RSS Feed

What Have I Done?

I should have planned this out better. I’m an advocate for planning things, and this one definitely could have used some thinking through. Let me explain…

  • For starters, I chose December to get back on the wagon and continue my journey to lose weight. In case you haven’t noticed, December is when the world hates you on a health kick. I did not realize this because in previous attempts to get fit, I’d start in January and I’d never keep up with my lifestyle to December.
  • Cookies. There are cookies everywhere! I love cookies. I miss cookies. How did I decide to see myself through this self-imposed cookie abstinence? I’m baking over 5 dozen for my neighbors. Yeah, not my brightest moment.
  • Choosing that catchy, alliterative title (Weigh-In Wednesday), I’ve unknowingly picked my weigh-in days to coincide with Christmas, New Years, and my birthday. I knew there would be a price to pay somewhere.
  • Candy. I’ve never been a big fan of candy, but believe me, it’s been looking rather nice lately. My least favorites–peppermint, licorice, and butterscotch are all managing to tempt me.
  • Even the candles are out to get me. There is no need for a candle to smell that delicious!

In all seriousness, I’m glad I started when I did. I know now that making it through this month means I can make it through anything. Getting fit shouldn’t have to wait for January, or Monday, or the first of the month. Pushing things off until some later date was typical of my previous attempts. I did that so I could allow myself the opportunity to binge until that day. Looking back, it’s easy to see why I failed so many times.

On the bright side, we’re halfway done with December and then I’ll be free from all the cookies that have been haunting me. January 1 can’t come soon enough.

May or may not be a self-portrait

Until next time,

The Cookie Monster

Picture: Source

About carolinafitness

Determined to succeed so that I can live the healthy and happy life that I know I'm capable of. Everything else there is to know about me will be aired in the blog with time.

4 responses »

  1. I love your lighthearted look at temptation! It’s true about the candles. My son brought home oreo scented candles. WHY? lol I agree on not delaying your start date – it only encourages binges in advance of abstinence. It’s almost over and January will usher in a year of determination.

    Reply
    • Thank you! I find that I only have two choices–laugh about it or cry and I’d rather laugh. Lol! Thank goodness I haven’t come across an Oreo-scented candle because I’m afraid of what I’d be capable of. Yes, come January, the world will be on the same page and I can sleep easily.

      Reply
  2. Aren’t you glad that you started when you did?

    Reply
    • Absolutely! Being where I’m at today seemed so far away on that day, but in the end, I was only focused on that day because I wouldn’t be here if I didn’t get through it. 🙂 It wasn’t easy, as you already know, but it was so worthwhile. Who’d’ve thunk it? 😀

      Reply

Share your thoughts

That Self Indulgent Bitch!

Stupid crap nobody really cares about but ME!

hearts on sleeves club

If you wear your heart on your sleeve, join the club.

My Fat Will Not Define Me

I am a Stay at Home Mom of 3, a Photographer, Trying to get to my Goal weight by my 29th Birthday. Come join me, any questions don't hesitate to ask.

Covered in Beer

by Thomas Cochran, Known Moron

BURN BRIGHT

writer, editor, singer, runner, and eater. the essentials.

Signatures & Introductions

A blog of names, name meanings, and appellation ruminations

gratefulrick

My journey to being myself.

Hardcore Health X

No excuses. Plenty of heart. All hands on deck. You can also check out my other blog, rattlingicecubes.wordpress.com

Amanda's Trip to Fit

From fat to fit, with some head shrinking along the way!

