RSS Feed

Four Letter Word

Every time I would attempt to get healthy before this year, I would hate it before I even started. The very idea would inexplicably appall me. This contempt for the notion of eating properly and being active would doom me every time, but I could never pinpoint what the problem was. It got to the point that I started believing that I was destined to be obese for the rest of my life. Since it was clear to me that I was never going to change, I gave into every urge I had. I didn’t realize that I had lost hope, but thankfully, I found a way out of the hopelessness.

It wasn’t until early this year that I realized what my problem was–I hated the label that getting healthy has attached to it. Diet. That little four letter word has caused me enough frustration to kill the average person. I still don’t like it. I refuse to call my change a diet because it’s not. Yes, a diet is a general term for the things I eat, but it’s not something I do. I’m eating properly and being active. I’m choosing this each and every day. This is a lifestyle–for me it will not stop.

I wholeheartedly believe a lot of people out there struggling with their weight have the same problem as me. The word evokes such negativity and a sense of deprivation. It carries a stigma with it of failure and gluttony. When I hold that word in my thoughts, I’m filled with sadness because it’s not a happy word. It has a lot of history for me. My doctor would use it as would my family. Then there’s all the failed attempts that are filed under it. By calling it a lifestyle change, I’m projecting positivity. I think of this as a metamorphosis and I like that idea. Plus, it emcompasses so much more than what I eat because in reality, that’s what it takes to get fit.

Of course, if you want to call it a diet, then do. I don’t and I will not on my blog because I don’t like and I don’t want to continue putting it out there. I’d prefer it if we can collectively move away from using that word for the reasons I stated above, but that may not happen for a while, if ever. Regardless, I will continue on my little path that isn’t a diet–if only in my head.

Until next time,

Carolina

 

PS: Tomorrow is my weigh-in day–be sure to come back to see how much I’ve lost.

About carolinafitness

Determined to succeed so that I can live the healthy and happy life that I know I'm capable of. Everything else there is to know about me will be aired in the blog with time.

4 responses »

  1. Plus, the word diet (at least to me) implies temporary. Like, “I’m on a diet before going on vacation”. The lack of permanence can be a problem for the person (like me) trying to improve their health through weight loss. Change of lifestyle implies permanent changes, optimism.

    Good post!!

    Reply
    • Yes, I agree–it does sound very short-term. That’s my same problem, I have trouble remembering that I can’t get down to my goal and then eat as I was before. It doesn’t work like that. And thank you for the compliment. 🙂

      Reply
  2. I feel the same way. Diets freaked me out because it was all about what I could not have. The significant changes my family has made to the way we eat is not a diet, but feeding the healthy way we want to live. We are not lacking anything, and gaining so much.

    Keep going with the positive. You will be so much happier that way. 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you for commenting! It’s only been two weeks and I do feel happier already.
      You’re absolutely correct…diets make you focus on everything that you can’t eat and it makes you obsessed with those things. My method, which sounds similar to yours, allows me to eat what I want so long as it’s within my calorie limit. Plus, because I don’t eat the “bad” things regularly, I appreciate them when I do. Win!

      Reply

Share your thoughts

That Self Indulgent Bitch!

Stupid crap nobody really cares about but ME!

hearts on sleeves club

If you wear your heart on your sleeve, join the club.

My Fat Will Not Define Me

I am a Stay at Home Mom of 3, a Photographer, Trying to get to my Goal weight by my 29th Birthday. Come join me, any questions don't hesitate to ask.

Covered in Beer

by Thomas Cochran, Known Moron

BURN BRIGHT

writer, editor, singer, runner, and eater. the essentials.

Signatures & Introductions

A blog of names, name meanings, and appellation ruminations

gratefulrick

My journey to being myself.

Hardcore Health X

No excuses. Plenty of heart. All hands on deck. You can also check out my other blog, rattlingicecubes.wordpress.com

Amanda's Trip to Fit

From fat to fit, with some head shrinking along the way!

