RSS Feed

Trying Something Different

I have a tendency to get complacent with what I eat and I don’t venture out beyond my staples. I think this leads to my boredom with this lifestyle. Instead, I’m choosing to be proactive and doing my best to combat that boredom that looms overhead.ย Lately I’ve been experimenting in the kitchen with different foods that I normally wouldn’t eat. For instance, I don’t usually eat tomatoes because I don’t like their texture, but I’ve incorporated tomatoes in almost every dish this week. Another thing I rarely eat is red bell pepper. If I have it, it’s chopped up and in a fajita or something similar. A couple of days ago, I decided to have stuffed peppers. I’ve never had this before because the idea of eating an almost intact pepper never appealed to me. I realize that this mentality has to go and I must either be open to new things, or I’m going to have to pay for it later.

So what did I do? I made the stuffed peppers last night and I’m having them today! I’m really excited about this. I hope they turned out well, and that I truly enjoy them because I would love to add something new to my list of meals. As for the recipe, I adapted this one from skinnytaste. I did not add the corn out of personal preference, but you most certainly can. I also added spinach to mine because there’s no such thing as too much spinach. Here’s what my version looks like:

photo (9)

You should definitely visit her site for a prettier and more visually appetizing picture. The recipe is really easy to follow and it doesn’t take long to make this. I actually worked out while this was baking, which leads me to the other thing I want to share…

It’s day three of my third week and I’ve decided to amp up my workouts. I’ve increased the intensity of my workouts as well as their length. Back in March/April, I was able to handle two hours of exercise and come out well and energized enough to do the same thing three more times that week. My body isn’t there yet, and so I have to slowly get myself there again. The first two weeks, I worked out 5 days per week for 30 minutes. This week, I’m up to 45 minutes and I’m feeling great at the end of the workouts. Of course, in the morning it’s a different story, but I power through the soreness anyway. Sooner or later, my body won’t ache after 45 minutes and I’m looking forward to that.ย 

Well, that’s enough from me today. I have so much to do, most of which is not fun but it has to get done. I’ll most likely update later with what I think about the peppers but if I don’t, don’t take it as an indication of what I think about them. If I don’t come back tonight I hope y’all have a fun, healthy, and safe weekend.

*Edit: I’ve eaten both halves. I hope that says enough, but in case it doesn’t–these are definitely going to be made again. I highly recommend them. They’re very filling and delicious! Go to her site and get the recipe. You will not be disappointed.

Until next time,

Carolina

About carolinafitness

Determined to succeed so that I can live the healthy and happy life that I know I'm capable of. Everything else there is to know about me will be aired in the blog with time.

34 responses »

  1. Oh my gosh, stuff peppers are a great idea. After, I went vegan, I haven’t had any. Thanks!

    Reply
  2. I love peppers! I grow the mimi bells in the summer. Fast to cook, and easily stuffed. It’s great when a new, tasty item is added to the menu rotation! Nice job on the workouts. I love when I am sore the next day! To me it meant that I pushed myself and the workout did its job.

    Reply
    • I ended up loving them! Not at all what I was expecting. It’s definitely going on the menu rotation. I’m excited to try other versions.

      You’re right, it’s a great feeling and how you look at it is true. That’s good to keep in mind when I don’t want to do it again the next day.

      Reply
  3. Try the mini, or sometimes baby bells. They’re about 2 inches long, cook faster and taste just as good. If you like gardening, they ripen faster than their full sized bretheren.

    Reply
  4. We grow quite a bit in our raised bed garden. You can freeze and can so much that way, which cuts down on your grocery bill all year long.

    Reply
    • Oh, absolutely! That’s the thing I love the most about freezing fruits and veggies. I went to a berry farm in the summer and I still have some blueberries. Speaking of frozen blueberries, what an EXCELLENT snack! I highly recommend them. It sounds crazy, but trust me on this one. Anyway, I’m excited to grow a lot more this coming year with the different methods Rob mentioned. Do you have any recommendations?

      Reply
      • You have to do some trial and error with this. Find a local organic gardening place and talk to the people who run it. Use seed varieties that they sell, especially if they are in bulk, and make sure they have used them or they are for your area. We have a place about five minutes from my house, and the owner is a master gardener who uses the seeds she sells – super helpful. I am on the Gulf Coast, so what works in my garden may not work somewhere else. And don’t get discouraged. Pull up and replant if you need to.

        Also, find out what seeds/plants that you can plant in waves. We plant our veggies in two to four week cycles so that we always have something coming in. And so we are not drowning in greens or squash, which all produce a ton.

        Reply
        • Thank you for these tips! I appreciate the time you took to share them. I will definitely apply them to what I do with my little garden. I can’t wait to share with y’all what I end up doing! ๐Ÿ™‚

          Reply
  5. Also, as great as heirloom veggies are, F1 generation veggies tend to produce more. The seeds from and f1 plant are genetically all over the place, so it’s not a good idea to save those seeds, unless you are experimenting with stabilizing a cultivar. Heirlooms are excellent as their seeds are the same as their parents. You’ll be able to predict your yields that way. F1’s are a cross between two different parents, generally from two different cultivars, and their offspring have a unique vitality to them.

    We have lots of wild rasberries near my house, and I’ve collected some canes and replanted in my berry garden. I can harvest healthy canes in the spring and share them with anyone who is interested. Not sure what their range is, though. i know that they do well in cold weather climates.

    Reply
    • From what you said, I think heirloom would serve me better. I don’t want to produce too much or have variation. I prefer being able to save the seeds and have the same type of fruit year after year. It’s a lot to consider and I have to research and learn a lot more about gardening vegetables. I do more flowers than anything so I’m still in the beginners stage with veggies. Thank you for that information. It’ll definitely come in handy!

      Reply

Share your thoughts

That Self Indulgent Bitch!

Stupid crap nobody really cares about but ME!

hearts on sleeves club

If you wear your heart on your sleeve, join the club.

My Fat Will Not Define Me

I am a Stay at Home Mom of 3, a Photographer, Trying to get to my Goal weight by my 29th Birthday. Come join me, any questions don't hesitate to ask.

Covered in Beer

by Thomas Cochran, Known Moron

BURN BRIGHT

writer, editor, singer, runner, and eater. the essentials.

Signatures & Introductions

A blog of names, name meanings, and appellation ruminations

gratefulrick

My journey to being myself.

Hardcore Health X

No excuses. Plenty of heart. All hands on deck. You can also check out my other blog, rattlingicecubes.wordpress.com

Amanda's Trip to Fit

From fat to fit, with some head shrinking along the way!

