RSS Feed

Holiday Eating and Drinking

I hope I’m not breaking any news to anybody, but the holidays are fast approaching us. The holidays are a potential challenge for those trying to get fit. It can be a scary and confusing time for those just starting out. No one wants to throw all their hard work out the window in the span of a week. For me, the holidays are a time when I’m carefree and enjoying the company of those around me to the fullest. I don’t want to be worrying about calories, gaining weight, exercising or life in general. I just want to relax. I intend to do that very thing this year.

This is the time of year when everyone is having a drink or two, especially on New Year’s Eve. I don’t like to drink my calories because if I’m going to have 300+ calories of something, it better be food. What I dislike even more is watching everyone eat and drink without a care in the world. The idea of sitting at the table, eating celery because I have a calorie limit, is sad and unrealistic. Instead, I’m participating and I’m going to enjoy myself by planning ahead and saving calories and carbs where I can. Here’s how:

Portion control. Starting off with a smaller plate than normal,  I’m going to portion out the food I eat. I will not be having half a plate of mashed potatoes or baked mac & cheese. I will load my plate with veggies and/or whatever is healthiest first, followed by protein. Protein is what will keep me full the longest and curb my cravings/hunger. Finally, I will give in to those sweet, sweet carbs but very few of them.

For those who want to have a drink, I recommend visiting carbsmart and selecting one from there. They have several cocktails listed and they appear to be delicious. The ones listed are between 0 and 3g of carbs, which is not bad at all! I prefer wine, so I will indulge in a (portioned out) glass of that over anything else.

My sister bought Bob Harper’s The Skinny Rules book (don’t worry, I don’t follow his rules). In it he says to enjoy holidays and birthdays by eating normally (I’m paraphrasing). I chose to follow this suggestion (it’s not one of the rules) because it relieved me of my hesitation to get fit. I’ve always hated the idea of ‘giving up’ Thanksgiving dinner or birthday cake. That has helped me get to where I am today, but that tactic may not be for you. Do what you feel is best for what you’re trying to achieve.

Remember, moderation and self-restraint is imperative during the holidays. If you know that you can’t control yourself, it’s better not to indulge in anything that could jeopardize your goals. At the end of the day, the holidays aren’t about food. Do whatever feels most natural to you and spend the rest of the time enjoying your family. Nothing is more important than that.

If I don’t ‘see’ you tomorrow or the day after, have a Merry Christmas!

Until next time,

Carolina

About carolinafitness

Determined to succeed so that I can live the healthy and happy life that I know I'm capable of. Everything else there is to know about me will be aired in the blog with time.

5 responses »

  1. You are absolutely right. There is no sense in throwing away weeks of hard work for a holiday meal.

    Reply
    • Don’t get me wrong, I sincerely believe that one reasonably portioned meal of things you like that aren’t necessarily healthy, is okay once a month or so. Even if you overindulge on Christmas, you’re not likely to gain all the weight back. The problem I’ve had, and have noticed in others, is limiting it to only one meal. Instead of just one meal, it balloons to one full day or week. Suddenly, it’s the next month and I’m still eating as before. How I see it, I must learn to eat holiday meals, and every meal for that matter, with self-restraint. That’s what’s going to keep the weight off.

      Reply
      • Agreed. One meal seems to be the catch, especially if you have a large family, as I do, and several family holiday meals. The only thing that we can control is ourselves, and what we bring to those meals. 🙂 I am the bringer of healthy veggies girl in my family because I want to do my best to keep it under control.

        I, too, have noticed that “it is the holidays, so calories don’t count” line of thinking. No good can come from that. None at all. 🙂

        Reply
  2. My favorite low carb mix is:
    http://www.bajabob.com/
    Their mojito mix is pretty good. I try to have it with vodka (when I do indulge). They have the dry mixes, which aren’t as good as their bottled offerings. We usually go to a bonfire on New Years Eve. Everyone brings something, so I make sure that what I bring is low carb. Plus, I eat a full meal before going to the party, so that I’m not ravenous by the time midnight rolls around.

    Reply
    • I don’t think I’m going to take part in the NYE dinner this year. I hope that I can eat as I normally do and refrain from eating later on that night. I will be taking snacks just in case. Because it is NYE, I will have a drink or two. 🙂 I love mojitos. I will definitely look into that mix for NYE! Thanks!!

      Reply

Share your thoughts

That Self Indulgent Bitch!

Stupid crap nobody really cares about but ME!

hearts on sleeves club

If you wear your heart on your sleeve, join the club.

My Fat Will Not Define Me

I am a Stay at Home Mom of 3, a Photographer, Trying to get to my Goal weight by my 29th Birthday. Come join me, any questions don't hesitate to ask.

Covered in Beer

by Thomas Cochran, Known Moron

BURN BRIGHT

writer, editor, singer, runner, and eater. the essentials.

Signatures & Introductions

A blog of names, name meanings, and appellation ruminations

gratefulrick

My journey to being myself.

Hardcore Health X

No excuses. Plenty of heart. All hands on deck. You can also check out my other blog, rattlingicecubes.wordpress.com

Amanda's Trip to Fit

From fat to fit, with some head shrinking along the way!

