RSS Feed

My Goals

I don’t think I’ve ever put out there what I wish to accomplish with my lifestyle change. I know that I prefer to keep my failures to myself because I have an issue with people using them against me. I build a lot of walls around myself because I don’t like the feeling that almost always comes when I don’t. I’m not proud of this. I do make efforts to change it, but I’ve come to the realization that controlling myself is a lot easier than controlling someone else. It’s for this reason that my goals are very personal to me. If I never reach them, no one has to know.

After toying with this thought in my head, I’ve accepted that I have to open myself up a lot more. No one likes jadedness. I don’t like it in myself. I need to grow. I need to change. I must find strength and confidence within myself. It’s a tall order, but personal growth is so important. Once I change that, my goals won’t seem insurmountable. I look forward to these changes as they occur in the coming years. Now for that list…

Here they are, in no particular order:

  • I want to be happy, healthy, and fit. I want to maintain a positive outlook on life and all it has to offer, including the lows. I want to be healthy so that I can handle everything, good or bad, as it comes. I want to be fit so that more doors open for me.
  • Run a 5k. I don’t run–at all. I would say it’s because it’s still difficult at this point. Believe me, I’m working to change that. What I want is to complete a 5k and feel the high from that accomplishment. I don’t care how long it takes me–I just want to be able to say that I ran one. This would mean and prove so much to me.
  • Rock climb. I’m terrified of heights, but there has always been something about rock climbing that intrigues me. Even if it’s just a wall, I want to climb (yes, figuratively and literally)! I want to stand up on that cliff, look down and see how far I’ve come.
  • Push-ups and pull-ups. I’ll settle for one of each right now. I couldn’t do the pull-ups during those physical fitness tests (The President’s Challenge) in elementary and middle school. What a source of trauma those were. Geez! Regardless of the dark memories, I want to capture these two things that would elude me. You can’t even begin to imagine how great I’ll feel.
  • Inspire. I want to succeed so there’s weight (no pun intended) to what I say because I want to help others find, develop, and maintain their fitness.
  • Skip. I was a skipper as a child. I would skip everywhere. It got to the point that I annoyed my family. I don’t know when I lost the ability, but I did and I miss it. I want it back because I’m a skipper at heart.
  • Develop a healthy relationship with food. I will explain this further in another post…someday. Let’s just say, for now, that how I interact with food is not the least bit healthy…in any sense.
  • Truly believe in myself. I live with a massive cloud of doubt over my head. This cloud comes from me. I’m my biggest critic. I can be, and have been, very unkind to myself. I can believe in someone else rather easily, but that’s not the case for myself. I limit myself with this doubt and I have to change that.
  • Get to onederland. This is the only goal I have that revolves around a number. I don’t like numbers when it comes to getting healthy, but this is my exception. There is so much history behind this goal that I’m not ready to share just yet, but I do expect to with time.

There they are. Actually, those are just a few of them, but for the sake of length, I won’t share them all right now. I would love to come back and check the ones I’ve accomplished off. It would be pretty amazing to do and see that. Anyway, these are my goals. What are yours? It’s only fair to share, right?

Well guys, it’s the weekend! I hope you all enjoy your last Saturday before the new year. Make it a good one, but stay safe!

Until next time,

Carolina

Photo Source: here

About carolinafitness

Determined to succeed so that I can live the healthy and happy life that I know I'm capable of. Everything else there is to know about me will be aired in the blog with time.

22 responses »

  1. Great post! I can relate to your list, especially believing in myself. We all have struggles, some just hide them better than others. Being honest with ourselves and working to improve what we can is what we should all strive for. I wish you the best…you can reach those goals!

    Reply
    • First of all, I want to thank you for taking the time to comment on my post and for following my blog. I appreciate it. πŸ™‚

      Thank you for the kind words and encouragement. They’re very helpful and much needed. I agree with what you said about the struggles. I know that I’ve perfected the art of hiding my struggles so I imagine others have as well. In the end, the only one who suffers from that is me. That’s why I’m working each day to change it.

      I wish the best for you as well. I hope to hear more from you on here and on your blog. Have a great day! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  2. Carolina, thanks for sharing your goals with us. I think as long as you continue the way you are going and keep making wise decisions you will reach your goals. You have been doing great so far, so keep it up.

    Running a 5k is one of my goals, too. I used to run when I was younger, but haven’t ran much in the last 10 years. It will be nice to get back to it.

    Reply
    • Thanks! It’s not so easy to see the progress and development in yourself. I think to an extent, we’re all hard on ourselves, but it’s something that we must all change.

      I honestly believe you can reach your goal of running again like you used to. I can only imagine what it’d feel like for you to get back to that. When you reach your goal, you’re going to be so proud of yourself. You better share accomplishing that goal with us. Okay? πŸ™‚

      And thank you for the encouragement. Your support is invaluable. Thank you.

      Reply
  3. I think you have great goals. Make sure you add forgive yourself and allow for the growth at it’s own pace. I know you can get there. You’re closer than you think.

    Reply
    • Yes, absolutely. I know I tell others to forgive themselves, but I have a hard time following my own advice. It’s rather crazy how that’s the case. Anyway, thank you for your support. I’ll keep it in mind when things get hard.

      Reply
  4. Another well thought, introspective post. Your goals are admirable. All are positive and focused on self improvement. With those goals verbalized, it’s a matter of following through and, assuredly, just a matter of time. I should probably do the same, instead of being helter skelter.

    Reply
    • Thank you. Just making my goals positive, and free of body image requirements, has been a challenge in and of itself. It’s taken me a long time to get here. I do hope that putting them out there makes me try that much harder to reach them.

      As for you, you already know what to do. It’s just a matter of applying and keeping up with them. I know you can change your outlook, which from what I’ve seen, isn’t that negative. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  5. Just remember, do the next thing. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. Brilliant post. You’ve definitely inspired me to make a list of goals and achievements. Running 5k would be one of mine too. I spend too much time on Pinterest looking at running techniques when I should really be out there doing the real thing!

    Reply
    • Thank you so much for taking the time to like, comment and follow my blog. I appreciate that a lot.

      I’m glad that putting myself out there has inspired you to make your list of goals. Having something to look forward to helps a great deal with staying interested. Quite a few people have mentioned a 5k as one of their goals. I would very much enjoy it if we could all realize that goal. I’m right there with you on the Pinterest searching. I can spend hours looking up exercises and motivational images, only to sit around and do nothing. Like you said, we should be out there doing it instead of just reading about it. I think we can do it! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  7. Good luck with the goals for 2014! I think it’s a great thing to do to put them out in the public domain.

    Reply
  8. You’re quite an inspiration! I will be here cheering you on to success! I know you will make each and every one of those goals a reality!!!! :o)

    Reply

Share your thoughts

That Self Indulgent Bitch!

Stupid crap nobody really cares about but ME!

hearts on sleeves club

If you wear your heart on your sleeve, join the club.

My Fat Will Not Define Me

I am a Stay at Home Mom of 3, a Photographer, Trying to get to my Goal weight by my 29th Birthday. Come join me, any questions don't hesitate to ask.

Covered in Beer

by Thomas Cochran, Known Moron

BURN BRIGHT

writer, editor, singer, runner, and eater. the essentials.

Signatures & Introductions

A blog of names, name meanings, and appellation ruminations

gratefulrick

My journey to being myself.

Hardcore Health X

No excuses. Plenty of heart. All hands on deck. You can also check out my other blog, rattlingicecubes.wordpress.com

Amanda's Trip to Fit

From fat to fit, with some head shrinking along the way!

