RSS Feed

A Family Affair

294

The clouds above my head have parted and a light is shining through. It is a miracle! My mother, whom I had been shamelessly stuffing with bread and treats throughout this month, has decided she wants to get fit!

A couple of days ago, my mom took notice of her body and how she was feeling. She was having difficulty sleeping and breathing. She didn’t like any of it. Choosing to take charge, she approached me with her declaration to get herself fit.

Knowing about my previous weight loss in the beginning of the year, she asked me to help her change her lifestyle. Outside, I had my poker face on, but inside, I was beaming! This would help me as much as it would help her.

My mother is old school Dominican, meaning she’s very set in what she eats which is white rice, roman beans, and some type of meat. Trust me, if you have a plate of that stuff, you’d understand. It’s delicious, but not exactly healthy. So what did I do? I completely revamped her eating habits. She’s eating a lot more greens and colorful foods. I’ve cut her snacking and random munching drastically. I’ve also upped her water intake. I swear she would only drink one glass a year.

It’s only been a few days, but she’s already sleeping better. She’s “lighter” as she put it. On top of that, she seems happier and that makes me happier. Of course, she’s been sharing her news with anyone who makes the mistake of calling her. It’s all good though, whatever keeps her excited and motivated is fine by me.

You want to know something else?

My sister joined in as well! Initially, she was going to wait until the first, but she came to the realization that there’s no point in waiting. I am so proud of her for making that decision. I know how she’s been struggling lately and I think picking up where she left off will help her with those struggles. I’m very excited for her and my mom. This will make things so much easier for me. I still haven’t admitted to my mom that I’ve restarted my lifestyle change. In her head, I’m just eating this way to help her. Yes, my double life continues.

Anyway, last night we ate dinner together. I made Grilled Chicken with Spinach and Melted Mozzarella from skinnytaste.com As always, delicious! Here’s what my monstrous attempt looked like:

photo (10)

Hers obviously looks better, but we won’t talk about that. Despite the appearance, everyone enjoyed it and my mom has been singing my praises. I just followed a recipe, but I won’t be stopping her anytime soon.

I have a MAJOR announcement to make on Wednesday, January 01! It’s pretty exciting and I think you guys are going to like it. Because you’re not going to want to miss out on this, come back here (or here) for more details on that date. I really want you all to be a part of it!

Until next time,

Carolina

About carolinafitness

Determined to succeed so that I can live the healthy and happy life that I know I'm capable of. Everything else there is to know about me will be aired in the blog with time.

11 responses »

  1. Great family affair. I’m glad for you.

    Reply
  2. That IS a family affair. I think it’s great. Looks like that you’re setting a great example for your family.

    Reply
  3. Sometimes just living the healthy life you want to live is the best example for others. This is how I got my husband to start this process. Well…that, and he has to eat the food that I cook. 🙂

    Good work!!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Reflections | Newfound FITNESS

  5. It’s great to do that with your mom and sister. 🙂

    Reply

Share your thoughts

That Self Indulgent Bitch!

Stupid crap nobody really cares about but ME!

hearts on sleeves club

If you wear your heart on your sleeve, join the club.

My Fat Will Not Define Me

I am a Stay at Home Mom of 3, a Photographer, Trying to get to my Goal weight by my 29th Birthday. Come join me, any questions don't hesitate to ask.

Covered in Beer

by Thomas Cochran, Known Moron

BURN BRIGHT

writer, editor, singer, runner, and eater. the essentials.

Signatures & Introductions

A blog of names, name meanings, and appellation ruminations

gratefulrick

My journey to being myself.

Hardcore Health X

No excuses. Plenty of heart. All hands on deck. You can also check out my other blog, rattlingicecubes.wordpress.com

Amanda's Trip to Fit

From fat to fit, with some head shrinking along the way!

