RSS Feed

Sprint to May Challenge

Hey there! Yesterday I spoke briefly about the challenge I have created with Rob. We’ve gotten quite a few participants already and I believe we can still get more. Because I only spoke briefly about it and mostly just redirected people to the Challenge page, I think I created some confusion. I’m going to try to clear up as much as possible. Here’s a quick look at it:

What:

Welcome to the new year! It’s a time for renewal and regained hopes. A few of us have personal goals we want to achieve this year and in the ones to come. This is not a new year’s resolution challenge, nor do we expect you to reach your ultimate goal(s) within the time frame of this challenge. We just know how hard it is to stay on track. We want to invite you to join us on this challenge and stay on course to reach any goal(s) you may have.

Who:

YOU! If you’re reading this, you probably have an interest in getting and/or staying healthy. Congratulations, you have already taken the first step! The creators of this challenge, Rob and Carolina, share that same interest. We want to help you get and stay on course until May. It does not matter if you are not trying to lose weight, you can still participate as a supporter!

Why:

One day, we came to the realization that every major holiday between today and May 1st revolves around food (mainly candy) or alcohol. We decided to help one another by challenging the other to make it to May. That’s it. Make it to May. We’re all (very) likely to make it there anyway, why not make the journey healthy?

How:

Anyone can join and/or invite someone. If you want to join, just comment saying YES or anything affirmative! Once you join, you must develop a bio about yourself stating who you are, what your goals are, what you are doing to achieve those goals, and any progress you have made already. It can be fun, technical, short, or long — whatever captures your personality the best. It must be posted on your blog. This is so that anyone who stumbles across this challenge can get to know you as a participant. It may be featured on newfoundfitness any given Sunday from here to the end of April. Support-only participants do not have to make a bio.

What Do You Get:

You get a network of writers and readers that want to support you as you work towards a better life. In the end, we just want to share tips, suggestions, encouragement, etc. during what can be a difficult journey. By joining us, you will be exposed to different authors and blogs. You may gain subscribers, increased viewership, and/or blog exposure. You might even make a friend and we consider that winning!

You can read the rules and achievements available here.

For clarification of the Challenge, please keep reading.

Here’s a small FAQ:

Q: How do I join?

A: By saying you want want to join. It’s that simple! You can tell me or Rob, it does not matter. It all counts.

Q: Do I have to make a bio?

A: If you’re participating to stay on track to reach your goal, it is strongly encouraged. We want to get to know you as a person. We want to know what you want to get out of this to better support you through your journey. Remember, it doesn’t have to be long or excessively detailed. It just needs to let us know the basics in a way that captures you. Also, tag your bios with STMC2014 for visibility.

Q: How can I participate as a supporter?

A: A support-only participant does not partake in any achievement, mini-challenge, or competition. Support-only participants don’t have to have a desire to get fit or anything health related. Think of this as our cheer section. All you agree to do as a support-only participant is to actively cheer our participants on throughout the next 5 months. That’s all! 

Q: Do I have to compete in achievements, mini-challenges, or any other competition?

A: No. You can use this Challenge solely for the purpose of staying on track. We don’t want you to do anything you’re not comfortable with. If we made you do anything you didn’t want to do, you’re not likely to have fun. We don’t want that. We want you to succeed.

Q: Do I have to join wordpress.com as a blogger to participate?

A: No, but you won’t be getting the full experience. While you are able to comment on my blog, that is not necessarily the case with the blogs of other participants. Being a blogger makes it easier for everyone, but if you absolutely don’t want to make a blog here, you’re still welcome.

Q: What happens if I do/don’t reach my goal(s) before May?

A: We congratulate you! Nothing would make us happier than you getting to where you want to be. That’s what we’re here for. If you don’t reach your goal(s)  by then, that’s okay. We would never put pressure on you like that. We just want to help you start and stay on track until May, at the very least.

Q: Can I share this?

A: Please do! The more people that participate, the more people we each have to cheer us on. We just ask that you link to either of the official Challenge pages (here or here) so that we can keep track of any new participants.

Q: I want to know who’s participating. How do I do that?

A: You can read the list of participants here. It’s only been a couple of days, but the people who have already joined are some of the best. I do encourage you to visit and follow each others’ blogs. I know you will all enjoy each others’ stories.

Alright guys, that’s all I have for now. If you have a question that wasn’t answered, please ask it in the comments. Rob and I will do our best to answer any and all questions as soon as possible. We look forward to helping you all out, and in return, receiving your support.

Until next time,

Carolina

About carolinafitness

Determined to succeed so that I can live the healthy and happy life that I know I'm capable of. Everything else there is to know about me will be aired in the blog with time.

9 responses »

  1. I would like to participate, I think this openness could be very helpful.

    Reply
  2. I would love to participate in this, will make my bio shortly 🙂

    Reply
  3. Pingback: A Challange | Transforming Me

  4. Hey Carolina and Rob – I just wrote my bio on my blog. Really not feeling it but really don’t want to give up. Just wanted to let you know because I know the deadline is tomorrow. So … I’m in (reluctantly)! xo

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Journey to Weight Loss | The Southern Diva Chronicles

  6. Pingback: January Recap | Newfound FITNESS

Share your thoughts

That Self Indulgent Bitch!

Stupid crap nobody really cares about but ME!

hearts on sleeves club

If you wear your heart on your sleeve, join the club.

My Fat Will Not Define Me

I am a Stay at Home Mom of 3, a Photographer, Trying to get to my Goal weight by my 29th Birthday. Come join me, any questions don't hesitate to ask.

Covered in Beer

by Thomas Cochran, Known Moron

BURN BRIGHT

writer, editor, singer, runner, and eater. the essentials.

Signatures & Introductions

A blog of names, name meanings, and appellation ruminations

gratefulrick

My journey to being myself.

Hardcore Health X

No excuses. Plenty of heart. All hands on deck. You can also check out my other blog, rattlingicecubes.wordpress.com

Amanda's Trip to Fit

From fat to fit, with some head shrinking along the way!

