RSS Feed

All-Inclusive

I realized that I’ve made my blog partially exclusive. I’ve spoken about how people of many different body types, goals, experience levels can start (or maintain) their lifestyle change. What I haven’t included, is something for older adults. How silly of me! Finding your fitness can happen at any age, right? My mom, for example, is 59 and she just started improving her quality of life. It really is never too late to start.

Last week, I tried to start my mom on light exercises, or at least I thought they were light. I was brought back to reality very quickly when I noticed she couldn’t do most of them. Her knees were the problem. There is no way she can do the things my younger, albeit much more overweight, body can do. I immediately felt bad for her and she felt disappointed. I didn’t know what to do. I mean, I knew I’d have to research it further and that’s exactly what I did.

I’ve decided to compile a list of websites with exercises for older adults of all walks of life. Here they are, in no particular order:

  • Strength training: This site has a few basic exercises for older adults looking to strength train. Stage 1 is very simple and requires no equipment, just a chair. You have a chair, right? Awesome! I’ll be getting my mom to do some of the things in Stage 2.
  • Introduction: This site provides an excellent introduction into a life of fitness for older adults. It also lists sample exercises for different goals suchs as endurance, balance, flexibility, and more. I will be reading this further to better help my mom. Definitely take a look at this site, you may learn something new.
  • Knee Arthritis: Here you’ll find a great article about exercises for older adults with arthritic knees. While it doesn’t show any exercises, it does list quite a few that can be done by such individuals. Some examples include swimming, yoga, and cycling. Another site I like is this one here. They’re similar, but they have different suggestions.
  • Lower Back Pain: If you want a long list of exercises for people with lower back pain then this is the place for you. It covers a wide range of exercises. I will certainly have my mom try a few of these. Beware of the high number of ads.
  • Arthritis: This is an  excellent website for those living with arthritis of any kind. It lists several tips and routines for staying healthy and fit while living with arthritis. It’s an amazing source of information and I look forward to learning more so I can help my mom. (Thank you, ReNuYourLife)

As always, don’t just start doing exercises, be sure to consult your doctor or health professional first. If you have any other exercises that are older adult friendly, please share them. I would love to include them and have my mom try them out. I’m excited to have her start on some of these tomorrow!

In other news, a milestone has come and gone. Yesterday was my first year living my new lifestyle. So much has happened in that year. If you told me a year ago that I’d weigh 42 pounds less, and be writing about my weight loss journey, I’d call you crazy! I have so much more to lose, but I’ve made a lot more progress than I expected. I can’t wait to see where I’ll be a year from now!

Until next time,

Carolina

Don’t forget to join in our Sprint to May Challenge. We’d love to have you participate!

About carolinafitness

Determined to succeed so that I can live the healthy and happy life that I know I'm capable of. Everything else there is to know about me will be aired in the blog with time.

12 responses »

  1. These links are really useful, I am 24 but suffer with back and knee pain due to medical conditions.

    Reply
  2. Thanks for sharing these Carolina. I work primarily with older adults and those with chronic conditions. Another site for your readers to check out (regardless of age) is the Arthritis Foundation at http://www.arthritistoday.org/what-you-can-do/staying-active/fitness-benefits/

    Reply
  3. These are some great thoughts. I’ve been thinking about my parents and whether or not they’d try get in on my health buzz too. So it’s sweet as to know there are some exercises out there that could help them if they do!

    Reply
    • Believe me when I say if my mom can get a health kick, anyone can! Lol! I really hope your parents decide to join you. Perhaps you could approach them with what a healthy diet looks like and a few of these exercises first. I know my mom was always hesitant to get fit because she always thought she’d be deprived of good food. She’s really taken to it and is making smart choices on her own. Let me know if your parents decide to join you just because I think that’d be really cool. 🙂

      Reply
  4. 42 pounds – that is fantastic. Congrats! As someone a bit older – thanks for love. And the inspiration.

    Reply
    • Thank you! 🙂 I’m happy to put something out there for everyone. No two fitness people are alike so what I put out there shouldn’t be for only one group of people. Also, it allows me to help my mom and that’s always a plus.

      Reply
  5. 42 is great! That is the type of motivation the people need, and like to hear about. Great job.

    Reply

Share your thoughts

That Self Indulgent Bitch!

Stupid crap nobody really cares about but ME!

hearts on sleeves club

If you wear your heart on your sleeve, join the club.

My Fat Will Not Define Me

I am a Stay at Home Mom of 3, a Photographer, Trying to get to my Goal weight by my 29th Birthday. Come join me, any questions don't hesitate to ask.

Covered in Beer

by Thomas Cochran, Known Moron

BURN BRIGHT

writer, editor, singer, runner, and eater. the essentials.

Signatures & Introductions

A blog of names, name meanings, and appellation ruminations

gratefulrick

My journey to being myself.

Hardcore Health X

No excuses. Plenty of heart. All hands on deck. You can also check out my other blog, rattlingicecubes.wordpress.com

Amanda's Trip to Fit

From fat to fit, with some head shrinking along the way!

