RSS Feed

Uninspired

I’ve been a little bleh lately. I don’t want to exercise (I didn’t yesterday). I don’t want to write any posts (I’m barely doing this one). Instead, I want to be in bed, watching old movies or on the couch watching Wheel of Fortune and Jeopardy. That is all.

It’s not like I want to be in bed or on the couch eating a pint of ice cream and a large pizza by myself, in fact, this has nothing to do with eating (go figure). I simply don’t want to exercise or write. Heck, it’s getting to the point that I sincerely don’t care if the scale doesn’t move on weigh-in day. I just want to lounge around the house in my pajamas watching my two favorite men (Pat Sajak and Alex Trebek). 😉

I know what I should do, but I don’t want to do it because I have to. I wonder if it has anything to do with the sunless weather we’ve been having lately. I mean there is that disorder, right? Could I have that? Probably not. I do love cloudy days so this probably isn’t it. Who knows. All I know is, I’ve been uninspired lately.

Anyone out there feeling like this? I would love to read what you guys are doing to cope and get back into the groove. I’m still going to try and exercise today, but I don’t know if that will actually happen. *sigh*… I EXERCISED! Before we all go jumping for joy, I will clarify that I did a modified workout (30 minutes). I didn’t want to do anything, but I fought through my laziness, started and then finished. I will do a modified version again tomorrow and increase the time and intensity as the week progresses. Thank you for all the wonderful tips and words of encouragement, ladies (oovictoriaxx  & slkirkland)! Have a happy Saturday!

Until next time,

Carolina

P.S. Come back tomorrow (and every Sunday until May) because I will be featuring a new participant bio. If you haven’t made one, please do. Don’t forget to use the STMC2014 tag. And if you haven’t joined our Challenge, there’s still time!

About carolinafitness

Determined to succeed so that I can live the healthy and happy life that I know I'm capable of. Everything else there is to know about me will be aired in the blog with time.

34 responses »

  1. I feel that way when things get to be too predictable. As much as I love routine, I sometimes have to break the routine because of boredom. If you have been exercising at your own house for a while because of the weather then maybe you will find inspiration by leaving the house. Since it is too cold to be outside maybe going to an indoor, heated pool for some laps, speed walking inside a mall (or maybe people only do that at my local mall), or going skating or ice skating might help.

    Reply
    • LMAO at the speed walking comment. No, it’s not just at your mall, it happens here at the Wal-Mart Supercenter and such. It’s kinda annoying when they get in your way.

      I don’t know how to skate either way. It sucks, but at the same time, it never appealed to me as a kid. 😦

      While I agree with you about getting bored with the routine and venturing out, I have no desire to do ANY exercises. I don’t want swim, dance, walk, play basketball, etc. I just want to be sprawled on my bed. I may be getting sick. All I know is that I hope it’s not depression creeping back. Regardless, I somehow managed to move my butt and exercise so I guess that’s good. I didn’t enjoy myself though, but I was happy when I finished.

      Anyway, thank you so much for providing the tips and ideas. I think that if you hadn’t commented, I may have stayed on the couch doing nothing today. 🙂

      Reply
      • I find the speed walking annoying too, lol. I had a gym class in high school where we went to the mall to speed walk and I didn’t like it even when it was me doing it.

        Some days we just don’t want to do anything and that is ok as long as it doesn’t turn into everyday. I hope you are not getting sick, but if it’s that vs. depression, getting sick is the better choice 🙂

        Reply
        • OMG! I can’t believe they had y’all walking in the mall. I would have DIED! Lol!

          I agree! Being sick is a lot better than being depressed. Who knew that one day I’d prefer to be sick? 🙂

          Reply
          • I think the only reason any of us did it was because all the other people are age were at the school so we weren’t being seen. Lol! It was a pretty cool class other than the mall walking bc we got to go to other places for workouts too. We would go to the YMCA for spinning classes and water aerobics, the skating rink, and running through the local college campus.

            Reply
            • I took a class like this in high school, but all we did was walk around the track. It was cold and rough (8 AM class). I wish we got to go to the YMCA and such, but noooo, we can’t have that. LOL!

              I don’t know how much I would have liked walking in the mall because there is something about window shopping or not being able to shop while in a store that just makes me sad. I don’t like it. Plus, there’s the smell of all the food. Ughhhh! I don’t know how you managed. You and your classmates deserve an award!

              Reply
  2. I can relate, especially at the end of a really long week of work and family obligations. On those days you have to choice to either give in and give yourself a needed break – all women put too much on themselves all the time and overload. Or you can turn on the music as lound as you can stand and dance until you’re laughing, it may not fully pull you out of your funk but it will make you feel better and get a little exercise in as well 🙂

    Reply
    • I honestly started this because I did want a break from exercising. Wednesday was supposed to be my day off and I had every intention of working out on Thursday, but things kept happening and I was unable to. Then by yesterday, I wasn’t in the mood anymore. I just wanted to continue my break. Today, it’s no longer about a break — I just don’t want to do anything.

      In the end, I decided to just do a modified workout and ease myself back into my routine. I hope that as I pick up steam, my melancholia will dissipate and I’ll start looking forward to my workouts again.

      Thank you for commenting. It really helps when someone can relate. I feel don’t feel like such an abnormality anymore. 🙂

      Reply
  3. I get bored ALL the time. The only way I’ve found I can get myself re-motivated every 2-3 months (when it gets really bad) is…dun dun dun…clothes. I will go out and buy myself something that makes me feel sexy but is a “little” tight. Then I’ll commit to wear it for a dinner date or event in about a month. Wanting to fit into that and look good gets my butt back in gear SO quick! I’ll leave it out in my closet where I can see it every morning (when I work out). If I don’t manage to make it, I really feel like I’ve let myself down so then I’ll say “ok, you couldn’t do it for this month but NEXT month it is going to happen.” I’ve never not gotten to that size by month 2 🙂 maybe it is a little superficial, but it helps me focus on my goals!

    Reply
  4. The weather doesn’t help. It’s dreary, cold, lifeless. I try to keep in mind that the warm weather will be here soon enough, and I want to be well on my way to winning the challenge by then. That keeps me motivated. 🙂

    Reply
  5. Glad you got in a workout!
    I absolutely know those days! Kind of having one today…

    Reply
  6. Iv been feeling this way this weekend. Im pretty sure its to so with hormones for me anyway. Well done for exercising to day.

    Reply
    • Thank you! It must be hormones or something because I really can’t explain it. I don’t know what it is, but it happened. I seem to be coming out of the fog now because today I actually want to exercise. In fact, I’ll be starting shortly. 🙂 So don’t fret. I think you will come through soon enough yourself. In the meantime, do anything that makes you feel better.

      Reply
      • Today I made healthy ish chocolate brownies to have as a substitute. I am sure I will be back in the rhythm soon enough

        Reply
        • I think so too. I think everyone’s gears and momentum from the new year came to a halt this week. Now it’s just a matter of who starts back up and continues on their own steam and who gets left behind. It’s that simple. I WILL DRAG YOU TO MAY if I have to. Your journey will NOT end here. Got that?

          Reply
  7. Dig deep. You can do this!

    Reply
    • Thank you. I dug pretty deep last night and I’m finally coming through. I feel much better today and I’ll be exercising in a bit. I’m very happy to be able to say that. Thanks again for your support, I really do appreciate it! 🙂

      Reply
  8. Hey there Carolina. There really is something with the sun and serotonin levels in the brain. I am super affected by weather and climate conditions. I know that when it’s sunny I feel so much better and am so much more motivated to do things -exercise, create, live. As soon as the sun is gone I get down, unmotivated, a little depressed, slow to do things. Good thing I live in Brazil =).
    Anyhow, keep going girl, you’re on the right track.
    Blessings =)
    –Staci (A God Coloured Girl in a Grey World)

    Reply
    • First of all, thank you for taking the time to comment. I appreciate that. Plus, I finally get to put a name and face to my Brazilian visitor! 🙂

      I’m very familiar with the disorder, but in all honesty, I don’t believe I have it. With that said, I can sympathize with you and your struggle. Not having the motivation or energy to do something is hard. It causes deep sadness and just makes the situation worse by turning itself into an endless cycle. I hope that you are doing everything you can to combat it and I hope that you come through.

      Anyway, thank you so much for your kind words and support. It means a lot to me. I hope that you continue to follow me on my journey and I’ll be checking in on you and your story very soon. 🙂

      Reply
      • Hahahahaha. Yup, I am the visitor from Brazil. However, I am Canadian. I don’t know if I have that disorder, but I just know that when I go from one type of climate to another, it totally effects me physically and emotionally.
        Blessing Carolina=)
        Staci

        Reply
      • I believe the condition is called SAD-Seasonal Affective Disorder.

        Reply
  9. First – what a STUNNING photo! I love it! And kudos for pressing through. I remember reading somewhere – and I’ve always heard you don’t need to do more than 20 minutes cardio a day. If I can do 30 I’m pumped! Good job and thanks for inspiring. I promise I will get my bio up tomorrow. I’ve been procrastinating but since I’m excited to participate I will do it tomorrow!!

    Reply
    • Thank you! These kinds of compliments always go straight to my head. 😉 LOL!

      Yeah, 20-30 minutes is GREAT! Lately, due to my indifference, I’ve been going for 30 minutes and when I finish, I feel like I conquered the world. Heck, I won’t lie — getting off the couch has felt like I’ve conquered the world. 🙂

      Anyway, I’m looking forward to your bio! Can’t wait to learn more about you.

      Reply

Share your thoughts

That Self Indulgent Bitch!

Stupid crap nobody really cares about but ME!

hearts on sleeves club

If you wear your heart on your sleeve, join the club.

My Fat Will Not Define Me

I am a Stay at Home Mom of 3, a Photographer, Trying to get to my Goal weight by my 29th Birthday. Come join me, any questions don't hesitate to ask.

Covered in Beer

by Thomas Cochran, Known Moron

BURN BRIGHT

writer, editor, singer, runner, and eater. the essentials.

Signatures & Introductions

A blog of names, name meanings, and appellation ruminations

gratefulrick

My journey to being myself.

Hardcore Health X

No excuses. Plenty of heart. All hands on deck. You can also check out my other blog, rattlingicecubes.wordpress.com

Amanda's Trip to Fit

From fat to fit, with some head shrinking along the way!

