RSS Feed

Give It 100 Egg Muffins

Hello there! Today I want to share a video that my sister shared with me.

Isn’t she wonderful? What an amazing woman. 100 days sounds like no big deal, but that takes dedication. Not only did she go to the gym for 100 days, but she recorded it as well. I could never do that. Our Sprint to May Challenge will last just a little over 100 days (105 for those counting). Think about that. What could you do in 100 days? Where could you be in 100 days? Visit giveit100.com for more videos of people doing all sorts of things for 100 days and be inspired. There’s so much to do and learn in this world. Go out there and give something or someone 100 days.

But before you go, check out my recipe (adapted from twopeasandtheirpod.com) for Egg Muffins! I took pictures and they’re terrible, as usual (you’ve been warned), but don’t let that deter you from making these. They are GOOD! Plus they’re low calorie and low carb! WOOT!

I decided to get creative in the kitchen. I was getting pretty tired of eating the same thing for breakfast (oatmeal and half a banana), so I decided to look up some recipes. I was in the mood for something involving eggs. Actually, I had an idea of what I wanted, I just needed a recipe. I came across twopeasandtheirpod.com and discovered their Egg Muffin Recipe. It was exactly what I was looking for! Unfortunately, I didn’t have the breakfast turkey sausage links that they used, but I did have other breakfast-friendly meats.

I basically followed their recipe except for the meats. I added turkey bacon and deli meat to mine. Oh, and I added minced onion because DUH! Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 4 slices of turkey bacon
  • 2 slices of turkey deli meat
  • 5 egg whites
  • 2 whole eggs
  • 1/4 cup skim milk
  • 1/4 cup fresh chopped spinach
  • 1/4 cup shredded sharp Cheddar cheese
  • 1/3 onion, minced
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350° F. In a medium skillet, cook turkey bacon and deli meat on medium-high heat. Cook until turkey bacon and deli meat start to bubble. Finely chop both meats and set aside.

2. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together egg whites and eggs. Whisk the skim milk and season with salt and pepper to taste. Add the chopped spinach.

3. Grease a 6 cup muffin tray with cooking spray. Pour egg mixture evenly into the muffin cups.

4. Divide cheese and meat equally between each muffin cup.

5. Bake for 20 minutes or until the muffins are firm in the center. Remove from oven. Gently remove each muffin from tray. Best served warm.

Nutrient Details*:

  • Servings: 3
  • Serving Size: 2 muffins
  • Calories: 156
  • Fat: 7 g
  • Cholesterol: 158 mg
  • Sodium: 423 mg
  • Potassium: 199 mg
  • Carbohydrates: 2 g
    • Dietary Fiber 0 g
    • Sugars: 1 g
  • Protein: 19 g

photo 2
photo 4

photo 5

This recipe is very simple. It shouldn’t take more than 30 minutes from start to finish. The best part? You can refrigerate these for up to 4 days. Of course if you do that, make sure to let them cool completely before storing them. I had one already and it was DELICIOUS! It was surprisingly light and airy. Please make these! Beware, the total sodium in the cheese and meats is pretty high, so I’d advise to go easy on any additional salt.

I added this to MyFitnessPal (MFP) for anyone using it. It’ll take a few days for it to show up, but once it does, I’ll let you know. Well, sweethearts, that’s all I have for today. Enjoy the rest of your day. Thank you for spending a tiny bit of it with me. Oh, and if you make these, please let me know what you think!

Until next time,

Carolina

*Nutritional value according to MyFitnessPal. Any change or substitution to the recipe will result in a change to these numbers. For specific details about the products I used, please contact me.

About carolinafitness

Determined to succeed so that I can live the healthy and happy life that I know I'm capable of. Everything else there is to know about me will be aired in the blog with time.

17 responses »

  1. Thanks for the inspirational video, I love how her face gets so much happier as time passes. 100 Day challenges sounds like a good idea and I think I will use the Sprint to May Challenge as my first one, even if it is five days passed 100.

    I think your recipe looks great! I make some egg muffins with sausage, cheese, and chives that my family loves, but I will have to try your combination because they look good too.

    Reply
    • Yeah, she definitely gets happier. 🙂 There are many changes that occur apart from the physical change throughout journeys like these. If you give it 100, you better share!

      Thank you! I will get my butt to the store and buy sausage because YOURS sounds gooood! 🙂

      Reply
  2. That is dedication. But that’s what it takes to do anything right. Half hearted efforts get half hearted results. The recipe looks good, especially if I can store it for up to 4 days. I doubt it would last that long in my house!

    Reply
    • Yes it is! You’re absolutely right about putting your all into something. You get what you give.

      Thank you. I’d lean more toward the 3 day mark, but 4 should still be fine. Microwave before eating them, if you can wait that long! Let me know if you make them. 🙂

      Reply
  3. I saw this the other day, Its so inspirational. I do not think I could do 1OO days though I would need some rest days!

    Reply
  4. Loved this video. It is all about making a commitment to yourself. 🙂

    Reply
  5. What a beautiful and inspirational video. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  6. Pingback: The longest week | Weight2lose2013

  7. Pingback: Week 5 Meal Plan | Transforming Me

  8. She looks so happy and proud of herself…. incredible video!

    Reply
  9. The video is great, but the recipe is great as well. Everyone ought to try it!

    Reply
  10. My husband and I made these eggs yesterday. So yummy! Even got the 15 year old to as for more… He hates spinach lol. Thanks Carolinafitness!

    Reply
    • OMG! You don’t know how happy this makes me! 😀 I’m so glad that you ALL enjoyed them. Thank you for taking the time to make them and for sharing your thoughts on them. I appreciate everything. 🙂

      Reply
  11. Pingback: Weigh in, recipes, and exercise. Oh my! | Goodbye Fat Girl

Share your thoughts

That Self Indulgent Bitch!

Stupid crap nobody really cares about but ME!

hearts on sleeves club

If you wear your heart on your sleeve, join the club.

My Fat Will Not Define Me

I am a Stay at Home Mom of 3, a Photographer, Trying to get to my Goal weight by my 29th Birthday. Come join me, any questions don't hesitate to ask.

Covered in Beer

by Thomas Cochran, Known Moron

BURN BRIGHT

writer, editor, singer, runner, and eater. the essentials.

Signatures & Introductions

A blog of names, name meanings, and appellation ruminations

gratefulrick

My journey to being myself.

Hardcore Health X

No excuses. Plenty of heart. All hands on deck. You can also check out my other blog, rattlingicecubes.wordpress.com

Amanda's Trip to Fit

From fat to fit, with some head shrinking along the way!

