RSS Feed

No Love

photo (12)If stores are to be believed, Valentine’s Day starts in December and lasts all the way until the end of February. On the left is how my local store looks at the moment. Each time I visit, I’m reminded of two things: 1. That I am bitterly single and 2. That I have to resist all temptation for any of this stuff for another month. sigh. Unfortunately, this pink and red explosion can’t be avoided. I don’t control what stores sell, nor its proximity to the entrance. This is exactly why Rob and I created the Challenge. We knew this was going to be slapping us in the face pretty hard and on a regular basis. It’s going to happen twice more before May (St. Patrick’s Day and the insistence that I drink up and Easter, with the insistence that I eat up). Plus, it always looks so pretty. These stores aren’t playing around, but then again, neither am I. I am so determined to succeed and see you all succeed. Instead of going shopping multiple times a week, I’m going to buy as much as I possibly can in one trip to limit my exposure. This particular aisle greets the shoppers of the main entrance, I’ll be using the other, less “Valentine-fied” entrance. I know I can overcome this. Bring it on, V-Day!

In other news, I’ve been wallowing in my own self-pity lately. These past two weeks have been rough for so many different reasons and I’ve been slacking off. I don’t know what I, or who I was expecting to save me, but I’ve finally woken up. Nothing, or no one, is going to save me. Instead, I’ll be doing what I need to do. I’ll be putting in the time and effort it takes to see results. I will let out my frustrations during my exercise. This will build the foundation for a stronger me. Whatever this was, broke me for two weeks, but I plan to work on that so it doesn’t happen again. I love myself too much to let myself be washed away by negative thoughts, especially my own. I’ve chosen to fight, that’s all. I’m ready.

Anyway, have a happy MLK Day. If you have the day off, enjoy it. If not, try to have a good day regardless.

Until next time,

Carolina

*I decided to change the title of this post because I have no love for this V-Day stuff. None of it. Plus, as I was working out, Eminem’s No Love came on and it resonated me and how I feel right now. 

About carolinafitness

Determined to succeed so that I can live the healthy and happy life that I know I'm capable of. Everything else there is to know about me will be aired in the blog with time.

22 responses »

  1. The fabricated holidays of the greeting card companies. I can’t stand it. And, if you don’t participate, then you obviously have no real love for your significant other. And to really put an exclamation on it, the discounted chocolate boxes, up to 75% off, that follows. How’s that for a kick in the butt? lol

    Nothing and no one will save us. Remember this quote:
    “If I am not for myself, then who will be for me? And if I am only for myself, then what am I? And if not now, when?”

    BTW, you’re recipe was delicious!

    Reply
  2. We all feel that way at times!!! Keep your chin up!!!

    Reply
  3. Wow that’s a lot of red! I’m so glad we only have a couple of shelves full of the mushy stuff in the UK.

    Reply
    • This is only one aisle. There’s usually more than 5 aisles in this particular store filled with the stuff. As Rob said, we get bombarded with it. Everything, from strawberries to flowers, is suddenly in your face. As I said, this lasts from December until late February (discounts). You guys are lucky! 🙂

      Reply
  4. You’re lucky, podgyprincess! It’s an onslaught over here. Plus, the prices of flowers and greeting cards are pretty high.

    Reply
  5. I’ve never been one for candy on Valentine’s Day. That has never been much of an expression of love for me…well, that, and the stuff in the boxes is a hodgepodge of gross.

    Every time you are tempted to pick up one of those boxes, remember the piece you bit into last year that was chocolate covered yuck. And chocolate covered yuck does not equal love. Then walk past the boxes and get on with finding real food. 🙂

    Good job getting back on track. Keep doing the next thing!

    Reply
    • Thankfully, because I’ve already gone through a Valentine’s Day with this lifestyle, I’m not really tempted. 🙂 I just don’t like seeing it. Like you said, it’s not really an expression of love. Well, maybe it is for those companies selling the stuff, but not necessarily for me.

      Thank you. I am trying to do the next thing. I’ve done enough of that last thing and it didn’t get me anywhere. Lol! It feels good to get back on track. I’m excited again.

      Reply
  6. I hate valentines day has become. People should show their love for each other every single day.
    I admit I wouldn’t be disappointed if I received a card or something but I would be just as happy about it on any other day of the year.

    Reply
    • Definitely. I’m not going to say it’s over commercialized because if we’re going to be honest, every holiday is over commercialized, but Valentine’s Day certainly is not special for lovers. I agree, love should be shown each day. And as you said, I wouldn’t be mad with a card, but the whole thing with dinner, balloons, candy, etc. is not for me.

      Reply
  7. I’m thankful my husband and I aren’t much for valentines day. That photo you posted is just way over the top. We get about an aisle or so here (in Australia) but nothing like that.

    Reply
    • It is, isn’t it? As I told podgyprincess, we have several aisles that look like that throughout the store. You can’t escape it at the Pharmacy, supermarket, retail stores, or even some coffee shops. It becomes too much after a while. You guys are definitely lucky that it doesn’t seem to be such a big deal over there. Actually, here it’s like a test to see how much someone “loves” you.

      Reply
  8. Ok – i admit it – i’m super lovey dovey – but not for the chocolates and those crazy aisles. I’m lovely dovey every day 🙂 Chocolates is not love… when my hubby surprises me with cilantro and parsley because he knows I’ve run out – that’s love.

    Unfortunately we can’t escape the aisles (just as bad here in Toronto!), but we can definitely be stronger than the marketing and remember what is really important – our health and those we love every single day of the year.

    Reply
    • Being lovey dovey is sweet. There is nothing wrong with showing love. The problem is the interpretation that these companies have of love. It’s rather pathetic and sad. The example you provided is perfect. Him noticing that you’ve run out of those things and getting them without being asked is love. He is helping and attending to you.

      You’re absolutely right, it’s all about being stronger than the marketing. And as you said, remembering what is truly important — health and loved ones are excellent examples. 🙂

      Reply
  9. I walked through the aisle yesterday. My husband asked me if I wanted candy so I asked him if he wanted a fat wife. He said he’d buy me flowers instead. I do the 10 min trick in stores. If I grab something off the shelf I want but don’t need, I ask myself if I still want it 10 minutes later. The guilt usually makes me put it back 🙂

    Reply
  10. St. Patrick’s day is getting to be a lot like Valentine’s day, especially in the Boston area.

    Reply

Share your thoughts

That Self Indulgent Bitch!

Stupid crap nobody really cares about but ME!

hearts on sleeves club

If you wear your heart on your sleeve, join the club.

My Fat Will Not Define Me

I am a Stay at Home Mom of 3, a Photographer, Trying to get to my Goal weight by my 29th Birthday. Come join me, any questions don't hesitate to ask.

Covered in Beer

by Thomas Cochran, Known Moron

BURN BRIGHT

writer, editor, singer, runner, and eater. the essentials.

Signatures & Introductions

A blog of names, name meanings, and appellation ruminations

gratefulrick

My journey to being myself.

Hardcore Health X

No excuses. Plenty of heart. All hands on deck. You can also check out my other blog, rattlingicecubes.wordpress.com

Amanda's Trip to Fit

From fat to fit, with some head shrinking along the way!

