RSS Feed

Weigh-In Wednesday Week 07

Okay, these weigh-ins seem to be arriving on a daily basis. I can’t believe it’s already been another week in this journey of mine. Honestly, the time has been flying. I’m not sure if that’s a good thing, but I’ll take it!

This past week started more or less how the other one ended. I was still feeling down and out by Sunday night. Finally, on Monday, something ignited inside me and that spark has grown into a full-blown fire. I’ve been doing everything as I’m supposed to do it. I have a new drive and I don’t know how long this will last, but I’m embracing and going with it for as long as I can. And dare I say, I’m happy! Where has this feeling been? There’s nothing that could have happened on the scale this morning that could have diminished this feeling. I seriously want to jump up and down!

Let’s see if I actually have a reason to celebrate…

Since December 4, I’ve lost:

That means I lost 4.4 lbs this week! Let me just say — there is no rhyme or reason with what happens on the scale. I had what I considered to be one of my worst weeks since last year, but look what happened! Sometimes we can give a weight loss journey all we have, and then some, and not lose any weight. Then you’ll have weeks where you swear you’ve gained weight, and the number on the scale goes down. As everyone knows, the scale isn’t a fair judge and this further proves that. I’m thankful for my progress, but each week is new and different things can happen throughout it. I try not to expect much.

Today is going to be a tricky day. I have a cousin of mine visiting me and she hasn’t seen me since Thanksgiving when I was 27.6 poundsΒ heavier! She doesn’t know that I’ve restarted my journey. Now, normally I wouldn’t care, but she’s my drinking buddy. Every time she and I get together, we drink. When I say we drink, I mean we drink. She’s 21 so we always go out to bars (sigh) to drink. Any ideas for what I can order? I really don’t know how I’m going to handle her visit this time. I’ll have to get creative, I suppose. (Thank you Lauren, Rob, and nschultz22 for the suggestions).

Well, that’s all the torture I’m going to have you endure today. Have a happy Wednesday! πŸ™‚

Until next time,

Carolina

About carolinafitness

Determined to succeed so that I can live the healthy and happy life that I know I'm capable of. Everything else there is to know about me will be aired in the blog with time.

38 responses »

  1. Good going Carolina! I really needed to read a positive story right now and I hope I can find a bit of your fire today cause I need it haha. I hope you find a solution for the drinking and enjoy yourself! πŸ™‚ x

    Reply
    • Thank you! πŸ™‚ I’m glad that I was able to provide some positivity for you.

      As for my little fire, I wish I could bottle it up and give it to you and anyone else feeling as you are.

      I think I found the solution to my drinking problem, thanks to Lauren! πŸ˜€ I’m not too worried now.

      Reply
  2. Congrats! Vodka, soda, lime and you’ll be fine πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. Vodka=low carb friend. πŸ™‚ 28lbs is amazing in its own right, but when you factor in the holidays, it becomes even more impressive. Most people, myself included, wish just to stay even during the onslaught of food during the holiday season. You managed to ramp it up and lose. Great job!

    Reply
    • Thank you so much for the kinds words. I can honestly say that all your words of encouragement (and those of others) have been my driving force when times get hard. And because you read my blog, you already know how often that has been. I thank you and everybody else for the support. I will never be able to adequately express my appreciation. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  4. Wow, great job!! I feel your pain with the drinking, but I agree with everyone saying to stick with vodka. You could even spice it up with oranges or something else citrus. Best of luck on keeping your fire!

    Reply
    • Thank you so much! πŸ˜€ I will definitely stick to the vodka as per everyone’s suggestion. I like the idea of oranges. That sounds delicious! Thank you, again, I hope it only grows.

      Reply
  5. Baha Bob has zero carb mixers that are pretty good. That works if you’re staying home and drinking. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. You gotta LOVE it when the weight just DROPS off, THAT is AWESOME:-)

    Reply
  7. Congrats! That’s is awesome πŸ™‚ So happy for you.

    I’m sorry I can’t help with the drinks. I did drink 3 (very) large margaritas in Mexico… they were yummy but I don’t think they helped with the 3lb loss πŸ˜‰ I do have some advice though – whatever you have – drink slow, enjoy it. You don’t have to match her – just talk lots and lots and lots so you keep your mouth busy. Above all, have a great time. Relax and enjoy the evening!

    Reply
  8. Wow that’s fantastic! Well done you.
    I always opt for vodka, lime and soda on a night out but it can get a bit sickly!

    Reply
    • Thank you!! πŸ˜€ Someone suggested the same thing. That was going to be my drink for the night, but because she has an early doctor’s appointment, we didn’t go out. πŸ™‚ I definitely dodged a bullet!

      Reply
  9. Yay, good job. I’ve been doing some reading about cortisol (stress hormone) and it’s effect on weight loss. It’s definitely worth reading as it sort of explains why when you’ve had a ‘bad’ week you lose weight but on weeks where you’ve smashed it and eaten according to plan, exercised often you don’t lose weight at all. It’s very interesting reading.

    As for low calorie drinks, I like bourbon soda and lime/lemon (I’m not a vodka girl), low carb/low alcohol wine (I’m quite a light weight), diet coke and bourbon is a favourite as well.

    Reply
    • Thanks!!! πŸ™‚ I’ve heard a little about cortisol, but I haven’t fully researched it. I think I’ll look into it. That definitely could have played a part in my results.

      As for the vodka, I’m not a big fan either, but I was going to settle on that for the night because it’s carb friendly. Bourbon would’ve been nice. Thankfully, we didn’t go out (one of those rare occasions) because SHE couldn’t! Go figure. Lol! Oh well… I’m not complaining. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  10. Generally any spirits are no or low sugar, but they do still have calories in them – just remember to log them in your MFP diary πŸ™‚ And more importantly, have fun!

    Reply
    • Thank you for that advice. I rarely enter alcoholic beverages, other than wine, into MFP. I should probably do that. Anyway, we ended up not going. She had a doctor’s appointment today so she couldn’t really drink. πŸ™‚ I was spared! lol!

      Reply
  11. WOOHOOOO! We love weight loss!!!!

    Well done πŸ˜€

    Reply
  12. HOLY SMOKES Carolina – that’s amazing. I think the happy comment is much more exciting than the weight loss. Only because I remember that feeling of being happy with your progress and not letting the scale get to you. This is wonderful. I love your motivation and reserve. Try a gin & tonic with your cousin tonight – I think its low in cals. It used to be my favorite! GOOD WORK!!!

    Reply
    • Thank you for all the kinds words and support. I couldn’t have done it with you guys encouraging and inspiring me. It takes a village, huh? πŸ˜€

      I looked into gin and tonics as a drink choice and I was going to have one, but we never went out! πŸ™‚ She had an appointment early this morning so she couldn’t be out and about too late. So things worked out better than expected.

      Anyway, thank you for the suggestion and praise. I appreciate everything. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  13. It is amazing. Carolina is modest, but we can see how inspirational to us she is by setting an example the way she has. Always supportive, always follows up. Keep it going, Carolina!

    Reply
  14. Congratulations! That’s an awesome loss. I’m glad you’ve found new inspiration and motivation. Keep it up!

    Reply
    • Thank you so much! I appreciate it. πŸ™‚

      New inspiration and motivation is hard to come by, and it’s one of the many reasons I don’t take it for granted. I have every intention of keeping this up! πŸ˜€

      Reply
  15. Just discovered your blog and am very very impressed. Your doing amazing and I am keeping an eye out in my reader now to see your inspirational journey πŸ™‚ reading stories like yours keeps me motivated in my weight loss journey πŸ™‚ keep up the good work

    Reply
    • Thank you so much for taking the time to follow my blog and comment. I appreciate that a lot. πŸ™‚

      Thank you for such kind words. I’m honored that you find my journey inspiring. That means so much to me, thank you.

      I’m going back to your blog to read more about you and your journey. I’m sure I’m bound to laugh some more and be inspired. πŸ™‚

      Reply

Share your thoughts

That Self Indulgent Bitch!

Stupid crap nobody really cares about but ME!

hearts on sleeves club

If you wear your heart on your sleeve, join the club.

My Fat Will Not Define Me

I am a Stay at Home Mom of 3, a Photographer, Trying to get to my Goal weight by my 29th Birthday. Come join me, any questions don't hesitate to ask.

Covered in Beer

by Thomas Cochran, Known Moron

BURN BRIGHT

writer, editor, singer, runner, and eater. the essentials.

Signatures & Introductions

A blog of names, name meanings, and appellation ruminations

gratefulrick

My journey to being myself.

Hardcore Health X

No excuses. Plenty of heart. All hands on deck. You can also check out my other blog, rattlingicecubes.wordpress.com

Amanda's Trip to Fit

From fat to fit, with some head shrinking along the way!

