RSS Feed

Lasagna Cups

This past Sunday, I decided to make lasagna. Traditionally, the version I like has upwards of 700 calories per serving and 62 grams of carbs. It’s not something I can enjoy on a regular basis without paying the price with my health and waistline. So what’s a lasagna-loving girl to do? Never have it again? I can’t do that! Instead, I chose to continue on my meal-in-a-cup path and make lasagna in a cup. Yes, I went there. Have a look!:

photo 4 (1)

photo 5 (3)photo 1 (2)

Oh, man! This recipe makes 12 cups (6 servings) and I have no leftovers so I can’t say if they’d freeze well. We loved them. Guess what the best part is? It’s only 280 calories for 2 cups with 22 g of carbs. I know that’s probably a little high yet for those of you following Atkins, keto, or any low carb diet, but compared to the normal version, it’s not half bad and it tastes just as good. Anyway, pair them with a salad (and bread if you’re not worried about anything) and you’ve got yourself a pretty decent meal. Honestly, does it get any better than that? Here’s how I did it…

I took inspiration from this recipe*, but I tweaked it to fit my preferences and lifestyle. Instead of using ground beef and sausage, I used 99% lean ground turkey breast. I used an amazingly delicious pasta sauce from Pellicano’s that’s only 60 calories per cup (I nearly passed out when I saw that low number), but you can use your favorite sauce. I also added chopped onions, garlic, and I seasoned the meat as I would normally. I followed the steps for the cheese mixture, but I added parsley to mine. Then I assembled the cups. The “noodles” are actually wonton wrappers (wait, don’t kill me), but you won’t remember that as you’re devouring these! Without further ado, here is the recipe for my version:

Ingredients:

  • 8 oz. of 99% lean ground turkey breast
  • 1 c pasta sauce
  • 1 1/2 c part skim, low fat ricotta cheese
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1 tbsp parsley
  • 24 wonton wrappers
  • 1 1/2 c part skim shredded mozzarella
  • half white onion, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 375° F. Meanwhile, saute your onion and garlic in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Once the onions are glassy, add the turkey and cook until brown. Add the pasta sauce and reduce heat to low. Continue cooking until sauce is warm.
  2. In a large bowl, add the cheeses, salt, pepper, and parsley. Stir until well combined.
  3. Coat a 12 cup muffin tin with cooking spray and arrange a wonton wrapper in each cup. Using a cookie scooper, divide half of the cheese mixture among the 12 cups. Top with the meat sauce and apply another wonton wrapper. Repeat once more. If you choose, sprinkle some mozzarella on top of the meat sauce in the final layer.
  4. Bake for 10-15 minutes or until the cheese has melted and the wonton wrappers have developed a golden color. Remove from oven and let them cool for 10 minutes in the muffin tin before serving.

Nutrient Details:

  • Servings: 6
  • Serving Size: 2 cups
  • Calories: 280
  • Fat: 11 g
  • Cholesterol: 53 mg
  • Sodium: 637 mg
  • Potassium: 25 mg
  • Carbohydrates: 22 g
    • Dietary Fiber: 0 g
    • Sugars: 2 g
  • Protein: 25 g

I know the recipe sounds a little time consuming, but it’s not. I don’t like spending too much time assembling food, but these were very easy. And the cleanup process? One of the easiest! Oh, and you can just pick them up and eat! No need for silverware, so I imagine they’re kid-friendly. Make them this weekend and bask in the taste of lasagna without the guilt. If you do make them, let me know how they turned out! I’ll love to know. 😀

Anyway, you guys have a great weekend! Don’t forget that next week is our first submission date for progress pictures, and progress for titles. E-mail them to me at sprint2may@gmail.com

Until next time,

Carolina

*She includes the nutritional value of her version, but after calculating mine, and later hers, it is incorrect. The actual value, per  her serving size (4 cups), totals (more or less) 747 calories, 47g of carbs, 41g of fat, and 42g of protein.

About carolinafitness

Determined to succeed so that I can live the healthy and happy life that I know I'm capable of. Everything else there is to know about me will be aired in the blog with time.

31 responses »

  1. It’s unfair that I have to look at these scrumptious photos so close to my lunch hour. I’d really like to eat one of those now! lol I wonder if there’s a way to substitute the wonton with maybe cabbage crust? Perhaps I’ll give it a try once I reach my goal. Thank you for the recipe!

    Reply
  2. Those look awesome! They’re going to go on my list of recipes to try.

    Reply
  3. Thanks for the recipe, Carolina. I do not like lasagna but my husband and children do, so I am adding this recipe to my list to make for them.

    Reply
    • Absolutely! 😀

      I’m sad to hear that you don’t care for lasagna, but that’s alright. Lol!

      Thank you for adding it to your recipe list. I’m honored. If you make it for them, let me know how they turn out. I really hope they enjoy it. 🙂

      Reply
  4. ooo these look great. Definitely going to try these!!

    Reply
  5. These look delicious! I am going to have to try and find ground turkey over here.

    Reply
    • Don’t they? They taste a lot better than they look! 🙂

      If you can’t find ground turkey, you can always use ground chicken. I don’t see how the taste would change much with chicken. If not, as a last resort, I’d use 99% lean ground beef. Whatever you do, let me know how they turn out. 😀

      Reply
      • Iv never seen ground turkey or chicken in our supermarkets, I might have to go the butcher and ask him what he can do for me.

        Reply
  6. These look phenomenal. Thanks for posting the recipe. I’d like to try them with the cabbage cups (as mentioned above in your first comment).
    Blessings =)

    Reply
  7. OMG they look absolutely delicious. I think I might cry.

    Reply
  8. Pingback: Working Through the Bad Times » Fattywantgetthin

  9. I love pasta!!! I will be trying this ASAP!!

    Reply
  10. Ok Carolina! I made these on Friday and they came out great! Thank so much for this recipe. It is a nice addition to a healthy lifestyle. I will be giving you a shout out in my next journal entry. Merci beaucoup!!

    Reply
    • I want to thank you for taking the time to comment my blog. I really appreciate it. 🙂

      I’m also thankful that you decided to take a chance with me and my recipe. I’m SO GLAD that you enjoyed them. I agree, I think they’re a great addition and they satisfy the lasagna craving nicely. 😀

      As for the shout out, that you would do that, means a lot. Thank you. I look forward to it!

      C’est moi! 🙂

      Reply

Share your thoughts

That Self Indulgent Bitch!

Stupid crap nobody really cares about but ME!

hearts on sleeves club

If you wear your heart on your sleeve, join the club.

My Fat Will Not Define Me

I am a Stay at Home Mom of 3, a Photographer, Trying to get to my Goal weight by my 29th Birthday. Come join me, any questions don't hesitate to ask.

Covered in Beer

by Thomas Cochran, Known Moron

BURN BRIGHT

writer, editor, singer, runner, and eater. the essentials.

Signatures & Introductions

A blog of names, name meanings, and appellation ruminations

gratefulrick

My journey to being myself.

Hardcore Health X

No excuses. Plenty of heart. All hands on deck. You can also check out my other blog, rattlingicecubes.wordpress.com

Amanda's Trip to Fit

From fat to fit, with some head shrinking along the way!

