RSS Feed

Rewarding

It’s been almost two months since I’ve restarted my journey, but not once in that time have I rewarded myself for any of my accomplishments. I can’t say why I haven’t because honestly, it wasn’t intentional. I’m all for rewarding yourself when you’ve done something good, especially if that something good is health related. For someone like me, who loves food, the problem arises when I want to use food as a reward. I’ve done that countless times throughout my life. Got on the distinguished honor roll? Let’s go out to eat! It’s my birthday? Let’s go out to eat! Got on the dean’s list? Let’s go out to eat! Got a job? LET’S GO OUT TO EAT! Heck, just last year when I initially lost 50 pounds, I decided to celebrate with, you guessed it — food. It’s a difficult habit to break, but I’m working really hard to not do that this time around. Instead, I’ve decided to reward myself a little more creatively.

My 25 pound loss has come and gone, but I still decided to “celebrate” by painting my nails today. I chose a gorgeous midnight blue for the occasion. I haven’t painted my nails in a long time. Actually, it’s been almost a year. The last time I can remember painting them was in April, while I was in the beginning stages of my depression. This reward is a little more symbolic than simply weight loss. It’s another thing that I’ve regained since that dark period last year. This makes me really happy right now. My 30 pound loss milestone is coming up and a list of things to reward myself with has sprung up. I’m thinking of seeing a movie or doing something fun for it. I’m not sure yet, but I do know it won’t involve food.

In other news, I’ve been reading all of our participants’ posts and there seems to be a common theme among them. We’ve all been having difficult weeks recently for several different reasons, including, but not limited to illness, injury, emotional and/or psychological struggles. The thing I’ve found, as time has passed, is that you guys have been bouncing back! 😀 This journey is going to test us multiple times before we’re finished, but the only thing that matters is that you keep going. You guys have inspired me so much these past few weeks and I’m so proud of each and every one of you. Keep up the good work that you are all doing — it can only benefit you. Thank you for making this whole experience the best reward. 🙂

Until next time,

Carolina

About carolinafitness

Determined to succeed so that I can live the healthy and happy life that I know I'm capable of. Everything else there is to know about me will be aired in the blog with time.

36 responses »

  1. I found non food related rewards such a massive boost when I first lost a lot of weight. ding ding – blog inspiration. You seem to have a fantastic approach and a confident attitude towards weight loast. Everyone could stand to be a little more like you in their journey. Including me! Xx

    Reply
    • Thank you so much for the kind words. I’m truly honored, thank you. 🙂

      I agree, there’s something about a reward that’s completely unrelated to food that just lifts your spirits. I’m going to try and do a better job of properly rewarding myself when I’ve earned it. Anyway,

      Reply
  2. Stupid Andriod spell check! Grrrrrr.

    Reply
  3. Omigosh! Food has been a reward in my life since I was young. So hard to break! I find myself doing it with my son. Time to break it and do something else. Let us know what you decide to do for your 30lbs!

    Reply
    • I hear ya! I mean, in part, I think it had to do with not being raised with unhealthy food in the house. If I didn’t ask for it, I didn’t get it, for instance, McDonald’s. I had to ask my mom to take me to the local McDonald’s as a reward for getting good grades. I always asked for food and I always got it. I conditioned myself and I kept that mentality until last year. It’s hard to change, but it’s been worth it. Anyway, I’ll definitely share. Hopefully, if the scales tip in my favor on Wednesday, I can celebrate it this weekend. 😀

      Reply
  4. You’ve found an excellent way to reward yourself without reverting to the traditional means. It’s a great substitution! I think that when you’re as successful as you are in your journey, it’s important to pause and celebrate. Rewarding yourself is also a great motivational tool to use as you progress upwards and onwards on your journey. Excellent job!

    Reply
    • Thank you! 🙂 I agree with everything you’ve said — I just have to do a better job of remembering to celebrate myself. I get caught up in so many other things that something as simple as painting my nails for losing 25 lbs escapes my memory. I’m looking forward to my next reward, whatever it may be! 😀

      Reply
  5. I used to make the mistake of rewarding myself with food too…then I learnt that a spa day/hour is SO much nicer 🙂 I’m glad you’re finding other ways to congratulate yourself …we all need to pat ourselves on the back!

    Reply
  6. Wow, you’ve lost almost 30 lbs. That’s great. And I love that you rewarded yourself with painting your nails. You should post a picture of them =). Can’t wait of the other ways you choose to reward yourself. Good on ya.
    Blessings =)
    Staci

    Reply
  7. Food rewards have also been a big part of my life, but like you have decided to stop them. I’ve now turned to fitness supplies lol when I lost 5kg, I got exercise clothes. When I lost 10kg I got a fit bit (also my Christmas present) When I lost 15kg I got a free weights set (and more exercise clothes). My 20kg reward I’m thinking a weight watchers membership or similar 🙂 I’ve really found rewarding myself for fitness goals with investing in more fitness paraphenalia has really kept me interested in continuting or trying something new 🙂 good job with losing so much 🙂

    Reply
    • First of all, congratulations on ALL your accomplishments. They are truly impressive. I like that you reward yourself with more fitness things. That’s an EXCELLENT idea. That can only help you to stay motivated. Good job. I will definitely consider that for any other rewards I may earn down the line. Thank you! 😀

      Reply
  8. Good for you for restarting! It’s easy to fall back into bad eating habits… but… everyday the process for change can begin again… that’s one of my favorite sayings

    Reply
    • Thank you! 😀 I don’t know which was harder — starting or restarting. Lol! Oh well. I’m focusing on the now and that’s enough for me.

      Anyway, that’s a GREAT quote. Wow! I think that resonates with a lot of us on weight loss journeys. Thank you for sharing it with me. Also, thank you for commenting.:)

      Reply
  9. Great loss, great reward! You’ve got this 🙂

    Reply
  10. My thing was “cheat day.” Then i called it “reward day.” Then it was “I’ll make up for it tomorrow.” Then it was “oh screw it I’ll start again on Monday.”

    Someone once told me “you’re not a dog, stop rewarding yourself with food!” And that really stuck. Now I have goals of things I want. New jeans, hair cut, etc. I don’t find eating a reward now. Now it’s something I enjoy because I know it tastes good and it’s good for me. ❤

    Reply
    • I used to have something similar, only I called it “free day.” How crazy is that? Nothing I ate on that day counted. But it really did. And it was very costly in that too many free days stalled my weight loss and I finally got to the point where every day was a free day.

      I’m 13 days into my new journey and have no plans for free days.

      Reply
    • Oh, absolutely! I’m right there with you — cheat days were rewards for me. Last year, for my birthday, I took a weekend trip and used the entire time as a “reward” for my weight loss and my present to myself. It got out of hand quickly.

      Yes, that dog analogy is true. We’re not animals, we shouldn’t reward ourselves as such. I’m glad that it stuck because now you have wonderful rewards to look forward to. Plus, I find that food is selfish. The only person that “enjoys” the food I eat is me. When I reward myself with something like a movie, I usually go with someone else and they get to enjoy my reward. On top of that, if I’m happy, I try to share that happiness. It’s a cycle.

      Reply
  11. Been there several times myself. I’ve seen people handle this in different ways. One girl decided to reward herself with new clothes instead of junk food, I thought that was a good idea.

    Reply
    • First of all, thank you for taking the time to comment. I appreciate it. 🙂

      I would LOVE to buy new clothes, but I’m still in a state that buying new clothes just wouldn’t make sense. You know? Regardless of where I’m at now, buying clothes is a great reward and I will definitely be doing in the future. 😀

      Reply
  12. I love your manicure idea as a reward! I’m putting the spa day on my list too. Many of us are programmed from a young age to eat for all occasions – our major holidays are centered around big meals (Thanksgiving, Christmas). We have cook outs to celebrate the warm weather holidays. Birthdays involve cake and ice cream. It’s little wonder that many of us end up overweight or obese.

    Reply
    • Thank you! 🙂 You’re absolutely right about everything. No occasion is simply about being together and enjoying each other’s company — it’s about eating together. I don’t know about you, but I eat a lot more than I normally would by myself when I’m in social situations. I’m still learning to manage that.

      Reply
      • Yes, I’m the same way. I haven’t been out to eat in the two weeks since I got back on track and it’s helped tremendously. It’s also saved me a ton of money!! I’m going to hold off on restaurant dining until I’m a little farther along. I certainly don’t miss it.

        Reply
        • Oh, the money saved is one of the best things about eating healthy. There’s so much more! 😀

          Holding off is a good tactic, in my opinion, because you get to give yourself more time to adjust to your lifestyle. Staying away from restaurants does get easier, too.
          If or when you go back, you’ll wonder why you even liked eating out. I know that last year, when I started to eat out again, I thought the food was so salty! It was gross, but it doesn’t take long to get used to the extra sodium, unfortunately. 😦

          Reply
  13. I love clothes, jewelry, shoes, handbags, lotions, fancy soaps (nothing expensive something cute from TJ Maxx, Target, Carsons, Burlington Coat etc), those are usually my REWARDS:-)

    Reply
    • Those are GREAT rewards! 🙂 The tops you wear in your pictures are always adorable. I think I’ll buy one when I hit -40 or something. 😀

      Reply
      • I LOVE clothes, and could make videos all day modeling outfits…lol In fact the news man just said its -6 and I’m still on my way out to window shop:-o I love going out and looking at the outfits that I will be soon fitting into, that is SUPER motivating for me. I take pictures of them and get mentally ready to be wearing them. Thank you for the compliment you are too kind. Please, please, PLEASE treat yourself. Don’t make me send you and outfit, cuz you know I’m SHOPPING!!! lol

        Reply
        • OMG! Why would you do that?! GIrl, get back inside! Lol!!! I’m in my room, the heat is at 75 and I’m cold!

          You know what, I shouldn’t be surprised. You have Naomi as your avatar. I’m pretty sure you’re a fashionista! 😀 That only makes me want to raid your closet. Lol!

          Reply
  14. I too used too and honestly some times still do reward my self with food, I also try and cheer my self up with food too. I think painting your nails is a brilliant alternative, or even buying a new nail varnish (I have about a hundred) I just had a thought that buying a nice bath bomb and taking time to have a relaxing bath would be good too.

    Reply
  15. A book or magazine would be good alternative also

    Reply
  16. i have always done the same thing and rewarded myself with food… this time around I am rewarding myself with mani/pedi/other spa treatments or new clothes! 🙂

    Reply

Share your thoughts

That Self Indulgent Bitch!

Stupid crap nobody really cares about but ME!

hearts on sleeves club

If you wear your heart on your sleeve, join the club.

My Fat Will Not Define Me

I am a Stay at Home Mom of 3, a Photographer, Trying to get to my Goal weight by my 29th Birthday. Come join me, any questions don't hesitate to ask.

Covered in Beer

by Thomas Cochran, Known Moron

BURN BRIGHT

writer, editor, singer, runner, and eater. the essentials.

Signatures & Introductions

A blog of names, name meanings, and appellation ruminations

gratefulrick

My journey to being myself.

Hardcore Health X

No excuses. Plenty of heart. All hands on deck. You can also check out my other blog, rattlingicecubes.wordpress.com

Amanda's Trip to Fit

From fat to fit, with some head shrinking along the way!

