RSS Feed

January Recap

I’ve decided to do a recap because I want to be able to look back on the bigger things that happened each month. This journey of mine is going to be long and trying. Being able to easily view how far I’ve come will keep pushing me forward.

Ended the previous year and started this one with one too many drinks. I didn’t regret it then and I don’t regret it now. I thoroughly enjoyed every single drop of that glorious wine. Even with my overindulgence, I managed to lose weight that week. Woot! I said back then that my next wine day is my birthday. I’m still on track for that! In fact, I haven’t had any alcohol since the 1st! I am very proud of that.

I fully launched our Sprint to May Challenge here on my blog. Because of this challenge, I’ve “met” what I still consider to be the most amazing group of bloggers. In the month since we launched the STMC, I’ve learned many things about myself through all of you. You have inspired me and gotten me through some tough times. I’m so thankful for this because of that. I’m excited to see where the rest of this Challenge takes us.

I started getting into a funk that lasted only grew throughout the first half of the month. For some reason, a disinterest in this journey came over me. During a few of these days, I questioned whether or not I’d be able to continue. I felt a lot of pressure from myself to excel. Believe me, this quest for perfection is nothing new and it’s something I always have to deal with at some point or another. Thankfully, I was able to get through it.

I ordered a year’s subscription of Bulu Box. Bulu Box is a monthly subscription of weight loss products that come in sample sizes so that you can try products before you buy. My first box is due in about 2 weeks! When it arrives, I will test out the products and share my thoughts. I’ve been counting down the days! I can’t wait for this!

This was a particularly fun and scary post for me. I rarely share recipes that I love with other people just because I’m afraid that they won’t like them. By sharing this particular recipe with you guys, I overcame a major fear of mine. The positive response was so unexpected. In turn, the stories of success that a lot of you shared with me regarding this recipe has been one of the greatest rewards for me. Thank you to all who have made this. I appreciate it! πŸ™‚

Things finally bubbled over for me by this day. I had been in such a funk and I had no drive, but on this day everything changed. Something lit up inside of me that said enough was enough and I was not going to give in. I was done pitying myself and feeling bad about things that I had no control over. Things changed within me and outside of me on this day. The difference has been like night and day.

I reached a couple of milestones on this day. For starters, I managed to lose over 30 pounds! On top of that, I also broke a wall that I couldn’t seem to break last year. This wall represented so much for me and I feel very fortunate to have been able to finally come through the other side. I can’t wait to break through many more.

Well, there it is. That’s my list of things for January. It was a rather trying month, but I managed to get through it in one piece. I learned to let go of my obsession with the scale. I also learned that I am a lot stronger than I give myself credit for. In the end, I’m very happy with how things played out last month and I don’t think I would change a thing about it.

Now, I have a few questions for you guys: How was your January? What did you learn about yourself last month? If you could, would you change anything? I hope you’ll share your thoughts with me. πŸ™‚

 

Until next time,

Carolina

About carolinafitness

Determined to succeed so that I can live the healthy and happy life that I know I'm capable of. Everything else there is to know about me will be aired in the blog with time.

15 responses »

  1. I think that this was a useful exercise because it illustrates all of the components involved in your journey. There’s the planning, the organizing, the social aspect of it, the self doubt, overcoming the doubt, moving forward, and ultimately the results. I think that anyone reading your entry today will be able to find something that they’re currently experiencing and be able to find comfort that they’re not alone in what they’re going through.

    Reply
  2. My january wasnΒ΄t too good because I was too sick and it took me a while to recover (might have something to do with the fact that I had been sick for a month before it got bad enough for medication.
    But on the good sides my periods are normal for the first time in my life so there is a change I might have babies some day (In the far away future) πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  3. Great idea Carolina, I’ll go back through my notes and posts and see if I can come up with something. Lately I’ve been dipping into the old habits a bit much and not venturing out of my comfort zone. It’s spelling TROUBLE! Tomorrow I go home, and I can plan and shop and prepare food to get back on track. The weather will be more inviting to get outside and exercise. Wow, you don’t always appreciate things until you don’t have them (nice weather, clean food) right?

    Awesome post, I’m sure it will have a lot of us reflecting.

    Reply
    • Thank you for all the kind words! I appreciate it! πŸ™‚

      I think taking a look back, such as this, allows you to see your growth. I think we have a tendency to focus on the negative sometimes, but when you look at the whole picture, you can see your success.

      When you get home, do everything you just told me. Do more if you can. Make February’s recap an exceptional for you.

      I absolutely agree, we don’t appreciate what we have until it’s gone. I’d love to have warm, sunny weather. I’d prefer for the local farms to be chock full of ripe fruits. Unfortunately, we’re not lucky enough to live in warm climate. Lol! Oh well. The important thing is to make do with what we have. If we can make it through the winter, we can definitely make it through the summer! πŸ˜€

      I hope you make a January recap post because I’d love to see what you pick as your highlights. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  4. Very thought provoking. I’m not much of a writer though. Life itself has been hard but I have really had no issues with eating and exercising. Except for the fact I still don’t like exercising. Everything feels different this time around. I really feel I will make it.

    Reply
    • I’m sorry to hear that. On the bright side, you’ve managed to control what normally goes out the window when life gets stressful. Good job on that! That is NOT any easy thing to do. πŸ™‚ I’m glad that you feel like you’re better equipped. That seriously can make a world of difference. I am cheering you on! πŸ˜€

      Reply
  5. How was your January? It was a good half-month. My journey didn’t start until midway through the month, but I ended January down 17 pounds and free of sugar, starch and sweet cravings. I call that a win!
    What did you learn about yourself last month? That I could commit and stick to this new way of life without looking forward to my next “cheat” meal or using excuses to derail my progress.
    If you could, would you change anything? Yep. I’d be 100 pounds lighter with perky boobs, a beach house, and a winning lottery ticket. Otherwise, no. I’m pretty content with the life I have, and I’m happy to keep making steady progress toward my goals.

    Reply

Share your thoughts

That Self Indulgent Bitch!

Stupid crap nobody really cares about but ME!

hearts on sleeves club

If you wear your heart on your sleeve, join the club.

My Fat Will Not Define Me

I am a Stay at Home Mom of 3, a Photographer, Trying to get to my Goal weight by my 29th Birthday. Come join me, any questions don't hesitate to ask.

Covered in Beer

by Thomas Cochran, Known Moron

BURN BRIGHT

writer, editor, singer, runner, and eater. the essentials.

Signatures & Introductions

A blog of names, name meanings, and appellation ruminations

gratefulrick

My journey to being myself.

Hardcore Health X

No excuses. Plenty of heart. All hands on deck. You can also check out my other blog, rattlingicecubes.wordpress.com

Amanda's Trip to Fit

From fat to fit, with some head shrinking along the way!

