RSS Feed

Going For It

Last week, I spoke briefly about wanting to lose a total of 50 pounds by my birthday. It was a goal that came to me a few weeks back when I believed that I was on track to do that. Unfortunately, with the small number I pulled in last week, I’ve become convinced that I can’t safely lose the remaining 17.8 pounds. I’m still not convinced otherwise, but I want to try. So, why am I even trying? Well, I’m going to refer to this quote that I always see in yearbooks and tumblr pages:

Why shouldn’t I try? By trying, I will be pushing myself to be better. I will make better choices and do more to get as close to that goal as possible. Will those things guarantee anything? No, they will not. But, as the quote suggests, even if I “fail”, I will be a lot further and better than I was. In the end, there are more benefits in trying than in being complacent. I want to thank my lovely readers, Lauren and Stacilys, for encouraging me to push myself. I appreciate the encouragement, ladies! ๐Ÿ˜€

I have some sad news to report. Early this morning, my trusty scale decided to peace out (read: die) on me (I’m sure there’s a joke in there somewhere) and now I’m scale-less. I will enjoy my time without a scale for now, but I will buy one before Wednesday’s weigh-in. Anyone have any recommendations?

Well, it’s Monday, so I’ll keep this on the short side. I hope you all are having a happy and healthy day!

Until next time,

Carolina

About carolinafitness

Determined to succeed so that I can live the healthy and happy life that I know I'm capable of. Everything else there is to know about me will be aired in the blog with time.

39 responses »

  1. I’m sorry to hear about the scale, but that might not be a bad thing. How are your clothes fitting you? That’s a good indicator of your efforts,too. I used to be governed by this quote: When you’re reaching for a star, there’s a long way to fall… I like yours much better. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  2. Right on Carolina. I’m so happy for you. You have such a positive outlook. That, in and of itself, is very healthy.
    Bless ya =)

    Reply
  3. Go for it my dear twin. When is your birthday? I have a flight to NY to book!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
    • We celebrate one of our birthdays on the 5th of every March. ๐Ÿ˜€ When is yours?

      Reply
      • mine is july 9!
        Twins don’t necessarily have to be born the same date or year!

        Reply
        • No, no they don’t! ๐Ÿ™‚ Heck, there’s even a case of “twins” that weren’t conceived the same night (search Julia Grovenburg if you’re interested)!

          Reply
          • hehe we sure wereยดt conceived the same night or in the same country or by the same people….at least I would be very surprised if we were ๐Ÿ˜‰

            Reply
            • I don’t look like my parents. I’m just throwing that out there. Lol!
              I also prefer the cold, although I was born on a Caribbean island. I have an affinity for European culture that has recently focused on Nordic countries, traditions and customs. ๐Ÿ˜‰

              Reply
              • hahahah iยดm the opposite. I hate the cold, I even have a disease that makes living in a cold country bad for me. I love warm countries and asian and middle eastern culture!
                I like my parents (but they were horrible parents when I was growing up) but I can’t stand my grandmother!

                You should celebrate your birthday with your icelandic family ๐Ÿ˜‰

                Reply
                • It’s starting to sound like we were switched at birth! Lol!
                  I’m planning a trip to Europe next year (my first ever!). I plan to hit all the countries that interest me. I don’t think I’ll go for my birthday, but it’ll still be a celebration of me. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve wanted to visit Reykjavik since about 2008 so I will definitely be making a stop there, one way or another.

                  Reply
                  • if you fly Icelandair from NY to Europe you can have a free stopover in iceland for up to 10 days ๐Ÿ˜‰

                    Reply
                    • Really?!!!! I did NOT know that! ๐Ÿ˜€ That makes it even better! OMG!!!! This just upped the excitement level for me to a bazillion!

                    • Yea I know some tricks, worked at Icelandair last summer ๐Ÿ˜‰

                      btw You have a guide in Iceland ๐Ÿ˜‰

                    • I just looked up some prices and it’s A LOT cheaper going through Icelandair. If I tried doing it it the way I’d imagine, I’d be broke. This is GREAT! Thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚

                      And yes, I think I may know someone out that way. ๐Ÿ˜‰

                    • I can’t wait to meet my twin! ๐Ÿ™‚

                    • Okay, so I pride myself in being able to pick up languages rather easily. I decided that, because I’m going to Iceland, I’m going to learn the basic phrases. I got to “Hello” and that was pretty straightforward. I figured, okay, now let’s branch to “My name is Carolina” or more specifically, “I’m called Carolina” and this popped up “ร‰g kallaรฐi Carolina.” NOPE! That is NOT going to register in my head. I’ve settled on “Mitt nafn er Carolina” which is a lot easier and I think I’ve already mastered it. I don’t know if any of these phrases are correct, and I’ll probably look like a dumbass, but there you have it. ๐Ÿ™‚

                    • hahahaha ร‰g kallaรฐi Carolina means I screamed Carolina ๐Ÿ˜‰

                      Itยดs right to say ร‰g heiti Carolina! Btw EVERYONE here speaks english (my english is bad in Iceland!)

                      Did you use google translate to study icelandic?

                    • LMAOOOO!!!!! I “screamed” Carolina? Yeah, that’s EXACTLY what I want to say. I guess the whole “I call myself…” thing that goes on with the Romance languages just doesn’t translate well. I would have definitely looked like an idiot! Lol!

                      And while I do know that everyone speaks English, I still want to be able to say the absolute most basic phrases. I suppose I’ll stick to hello, goodbye, thank you, and please. That’s more than enough. ๐Ÿ™‚

                      How is your English bad? I haven’t come across one instance where I didn’t understand what you were saying. Do you speak any other languages? I speak Spanish and I took French throughout high school. If we can’t understand each other, we can always type things out.
                      No, but I did use it to listen to the words spoken. ๐Ÿ™‚

                    • I speak a little danish, portuguese and spanish (very little practice now – but 10 years ago I was able to speak portuguese and spanish). I also studied german and french.

                      Thank you is Takk in Icelandic
                      we don’t use please in icelandic, weยดre not polite country…itยดs a viking country!

                    • Ahh, there we go! You help me with Icelandic and I’ll help you remaster your Spanish. ๐Ÿ™‚ We both win!

                      Okay, so I listened to Takk and it’s exactly how I thought it’d be pronounced! ๐Ÿ˜€ Yes, I do feel accomplished. As for the lack of “please”, I’m fine with that. I have a knack for telling people what to do anyway. ๐Ÿ™‚

                    • hahaha I wish we had please in icelandic, it would make me more polite when speaking other languages! ๐Ÿ™‚

                    • Some say we’re too polite. I guess we all have our problems, huh? ๐Ÿ™‚

                    • also we usually say Hรฆ (pronounced Hi) and bรฆ (pronounced bye), but hallo is also fine here ๐Ÿ˜‰

                    • That is embarrassingly easy. Lol!

  4. Awesome attitude and good luck! As for a scale recommendation, I’d suggest the Weight Watchers scale. I’ve had mine for a little over 2 years and it still is dead accurate. I think I got it at a Bed, Bath and Beyond for about $20.

    Reply
  5. It is great that you are pushing for your goal, I don’t think you will miss it but if you do as you say you will be better off and closer that if you hadn’t tried. Everything adds up with what we are doing.

    I’m not sure about scales over there but I prefer ones with a digital read out as apposed to the dial as they are easier to read.

    Reply
  6. Go for IT!!!!! Throw logic out the window, USA, USA, USA!!! Go for the GOLD!!!! At least TRY:-)

    Reply
  7. Yaaaaay! I’m so glad you are sticking to it. I believe in you!! And maybe the scale’s timely death was a sign of good things to come. They are evil, anyway.

    Reply
  8. Pingback: Better March | Newfound FITNESS

Share your thoughts

That Self Indulgent Bitch!

Stupid crap nobody really cares about but ME!

hearts on sleeves club

If you wear your heart on your sleeve, join the club.

My Fat Will Not Define Me

I am a Stay at Home Mom of 3, a Photographer, Trying to get to my Goal weight by my 29th Birthday. Come join me, any questions don't hesitate to ask.

Covered in Beer

by Thomas Cochran, Known Moron

BURN BRIGHT

writer, editor, singer, runner, and eater. the essentials.

Signatures & Introductions

A blog of names, name meanings, and appellation ruminations

gratefulrick

My journey to being myself.

Hardcore Health X

No excuses. Plenty of heart. All hands on deck. You can also check out my other blog, rattlingicecubes.wordpress.com

Amanda's Trip to Fit

From fat to fit, with some head shrinking along the way!

