RSS Feed

Ramblings About Nothing

It’s that time of the week when I’m expected to step on my scale and share with you my progress. I’ve done that for 11 weeks now, but this week I decided not to. I’ve decided to cancel my weigh-in Wednesday posts indefinitely. This wasn’t a rash decision — I’ve thought about it long and hard.

As much as I wanted to believe otherwise, I was just not completely free from my number. I’d begun to feel pressure to produce great numbers. I don’t know how much of that pressure was real or imagined, but I figure it’s best to put a stop to it before it got to be too much. Also, I don’t think I was helping any of you by sharing numbers. It’s hard to not compare ourselves and I wouldn’t want any of you to get hurt somehow by comparing yourselves to me. I also felt like a hypocrite when I’d tell some of you that the number on the scale doesn’t matter (it didn’t) and then I’d parade my weekly weigh-in. I don’t know — it just felt wrong to me. That being said, I will be keeping track of my weight loss on a “whenever I feel like it basis” on MyFitnessPal and those measurements (whenever they’re taken) will be posted under my “Progress” tab.

I’ll repurpose my Wednesdays for reflection on the previous week or whatever interests me. I feel like you guys know a good deal about me, but not much of what I do and who I am. Perhaps I’ll use Wednesdays for that. πŸ™‚ Let’s start right now!…

I love to read. In the summer, you’re likely to find me with my face in a book. That’s what I like to do. Reading calms me. I love to escape and reading provides that for me. I’ve always has an affinity for reading. When I was in kindergarten, my teacher suggested that I read books with a cassette tape so that I could learn English. I kept that habit until I was in second grade. Each week, I looked forward to checking out a book from the school’s library. It was always an experience for me. As a child, one of my favorite books was Rainbow Fish by Marcus Pfister. I read that book numerous times. Naturally, as I’ve gotten older, my tastes have matured and I’m interested in a variety of genres. I don’t have a favorite because each book provides something different for me. It’d almost be like picking a favorite song — it’s almost impossible. Currently, I have several books and I aspire to collect enough to fill up my dream library which looks something this:

But I’ll gladly settle for this:

πŸ˜‰

Anyway, enough of that. Have a WONDERFUL Wednesday, my loves! Day 3 of being sick is kicking my butt so I’ll be continuing my bed rest. 😦

 

Until next time,

Carolina

About carolinafitness

Determined to succeed so that I can live the healthy and happy life that I know I'm capable of. Everything else there is to know about me will be aired in the blog with time.

21 responses »

  1. I completely understand and support your decision. Part of weight loss is psychological, and it’s hard to break from its grip if you’re always looking at a scale and reminded of it. Conversely, if you’re like me, I started my blog for accountability. I have strayed from being a diet blog as well, and it’s become more of a ‘me’ journal. I wonder if I’ve taken it too far from its origins. Time will tell. Truth be told, I’d love to know more about you, so I’m excited about the new direction that you’re taking your blog in. Get well soon!

    Rob

    Reply
    • Thank you, Rob. I’m glad that you support the decision. πŸ™‚ I agree, weight loss is partly psychological and it has to not have that number consume you.

      I did start my blog to stay accountable, but I realized that staying accountable has been a lot easier than I imagined. Suddenly, it feels like I don’t need the blog, but I don’t want to lose the support that I know I can turn to and that’ll happen if I quit. Your blog has strayed from weight loss but it’s taken an amazing turn. I think everyone likes the new direction of your blog. I know I do. You said you’d like to know more about me. What exactly would you like to know? I figured you knew me better than anyone else here. Lol!
      Thank you. I will try to get better soon. Perhaps I’ll look into sweating it out or something tomorrow. We’ll see how I feel then.

      Reply
  2. I think if you are feeling that you shouldn’t share your weight loss number any longer then you shouldn’t, it’s all up to you. I like the idea of posts to get to know you better as sometimes we forget to share that type of information when we are focused on the numbers.
    I also dream of having a library like that πŸ™‚
    Hope you get well soon!

    Reply
    • I just didn’t feel like I was getting anything from the sharing anymore. Initially, it drove me to keep my journey going, but that’s not the case now.

      I like the idea of opening myself to you guys some more. I’m more than just this weight loss journey and I’d like you all to see that.

      Those libraries are both beautiful and if someone would willingly build them for me, I’d be eternally grateful. Lol!

      Thank you, I’m trying my best. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  3. Aww, well, I really hope you feel better!!! You look amazing, too by the way!! I can’t wait to keep learning more and more about you! Xoxo!! πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  4. Ill be interested to learn more about you from your future posts. I think it is important to do what you feel is right re the weigh ins, I sometimes feel a little down after weight/ measure ins as I have not made much of a difference to the measurements. It is not all about numbers though. There are a whole host of aspects in our live that are improved with healthy eating and exercising. Self esteem, mood, confidence, relationships with others, how we see ourselves etc.

    Reply
  5. Ohh I always look forward to see your numbers each week they re always very inspiring, but I do understand your decision! =)

    I would LOVE to have the first reading room, but I would like a equal size room for my clothes and shoes! πŸ˜›

    Reply
    • Aww! You liked those? Hm, I’ll have a special “For Harpa” weigh-in. πŸ˜€

      That first reading room, as you call it, is GORGEOUS. I need to find a man that can build it for me for free. Do you know anyone? While he’s at it, he can build you a tremendous closet! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  6. Nice looking libraries. Both of them.
    =)

    Reply
  7. That first room would be great. It has a fireplace, a grand piano and a lifetime of books to read. I’d get lost in there rather quickly. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Share your thoughts

That Self Indulgent Bitch!

Stupid crap nobody really cares about but ME!

hearts on sleeves club

If you wear your heart on your sleeve, join the club.

My Fat Will Not Define Me

I am a Stay at Home Mom of 3, a Photographer, Trying to get to my Goal weight by my 29th Birthday. Come join me, any questions don't hesitate to ask.

Covered in Beer

by Thomas Cochran, Known Moron

BURN BRIGHT

writer, editor, singer, runner, and eater. the essentials.

Signatures & Introductions

A blog of names, name meanings, and appellation ruminations

gratefulrick

My journey to being myself.

Hardcore Health X

No excuses. Plenty of heart. All hands on deck. You can also check out my other blog, rattlingicecubes.wordpress.com

Amanda's Trip to Fit

From fat to fit, with some head shrinking along the way!

