RSS Feed

Better March

It’s March! I’m so happy that February is finally over. I don’t know about you, but it felt like February lasted forever. February was not kind to me either. I got sick in the final days of the month and I’m only now starting to feel better. Thank you for all the well wishes. They meant a lot to me. I’m glad it’s all going away. It’s all in good timing too. I have a lot going on these first couple of weeks in March and then some more stuff in the final weeks. I know that I’m going to be faced with several challenges this month, but I believe that I’m capable of handling them. In fact, I look forward to them. This month we’ll finally start to see some warmer weather, well, once this Titan passes us. sigh

Earlier last month, I did a recap of January, today I will do a recap of February. I know there’s not a lot to recap because I didn’t really post much, but I think looking back at my own progress serves a purpose.

Ugh! My Super Bowl Extravaganza left me reeling in its wake. I’m not going to lie — I felt gross and disgusting after going all out like I did. I did falter, we all do, but I didn’t fall. I just refocused and became even more motivated to persevere. In the end, I don’t regret any of it. I learned a valuable lesson and it’s one that I’ve applied every day since then. In the words of Carl from The Walking Dead, “I win.”

I posted what has been my lowest weekly weight loss since restarting my lifestyle. Had that happened last year, I would have cried. As much as I would like to think otherwise, I was not mentally or emotionally prepared for the severity of my journey. I thought I understood that it would be challenging and that I would be tried every day, but I didn’t. It took going through my personal hell and losing everything to recall the other side of things. I came back from that. Posting a low number didn’t trouble me like it did last year. I’ve come a long way.

Due to my binging the night of the Super Bowl and the consequences of that decision, I believed that I wasn’t going to be able to achieve a goal I’d set for myself. I wanted to lose 50 pounds by the time of my birthday (it’s coming up!) and I was convinced that I would not be able to do that. On this day I overcame my own negative thoughts and I decided to still go for it. I knew that trying would serve me better than being complacent and it seriously has. I’m well within reach of that goal and I’m excited to share that achievement with you all.

I shared a wonderful recipe with you all on this day. The recipe was for Creamy Lemon Chicken with Bacon from Family Circle. That meal was one of the better ones I had last month and I implore you all to try it. It’s so good and relatively easy to make. If you choose to make this recipe, follow my advice and add more bacon. If you haven’t made this already, we can’t be friends (I’m kidding)!

I came down with a cold on this day. I figured it was just some sniffles and I’d be on my way within two days. I was wrong… really wrong. I still have congestion, a headache, and a sore throat but the fatigue and loss of appetite have gone away. Hopefully I’m fully recovered by Wednesday. Let’s keep our fingers crossed.

This is the first Wednesday that has passed since I started my blog where I didn’t talk about the progress I’d made. After a lot of consideration, I decided to do away with my weigh-ins because I didn’t feel like I was benefitting from them. Not only that, I didn’t feel like you guys were benefitting either. In the end, I chose to eliminate them from my posting schedule for now. They may return, they may not. In the meantime, I’ve chosen to open up a little bit more about myself because I felt like I’ve kept you all at arm’s length. As it stands right now, I think I can benefit from sharing who I am. I hope you all can too.

Another month has come and gone and it was good. In some ways February was exceptional and I’m sure never to forget those days. In other ways, it was torturous, but every day and every month is a chance to start over. I’m improving each time and I’m happy about that. Anyway, here’s to a new and exciting month. I hope you all have a wonderful Saturday. For those of you in the midwest and the northeast, I hope you all stay warm and safe this weekend.

 

Until next time,

Carolina

 

About carolinafitness

Determined to succeed so that I can live the healthy and happy life that I know I'm capable of. Everything else there is to know about me will be aired in the blog with time.

12 responses »

  1. Well, you made it and still continue to SHRINK:-)

    Reply
  2. I LOVE your new photo, that’s a great smile!!

    Reply
  3. Your birthday month is here =) =) =)

    Reply
  4. First, I LOVE the new photo! Beautiful! Second, I just love your attitude Carolina – it is so uplifting and positive!

    I’m still super sick – my doc had to put me on Prednisone and 2 other meds to help get rid of my cough. It’s nasty.

    And I like your decision not to post weigh ins. I think it’s important to do what feels right for us! But congrats on seeing a nice lower number!

    You’re doing it! Xoxo

    Reply
  5. I must be the oddball that was inspired by your weight loss postings. Keep up the good work, and give us a hint now and then. Hope you are feeling better on your birthday!

    Reply
    • Thank you for drawing inspiration from those posts. I will be sure to share major milestones with you all. I promise. πŸ™‚ I’m really much, much better today. I have 3 days before my birthday. I think I’ll be good by then.

      Reply
  6. February could not have lasted longer! It was brutal. March is starting off with bad intent, with another snow storm heading our way. Forward we go, right? Here’s to hoping that March treats everyone well!

    Reply

Share your thoughts

That Self Indulgent Bitch!

Stupid crap nobody really cares about but ME!

hearts on sleeves club

If you wear your heart on your sleeve, join the club.

My Fat Will Not Define Me

I am a Stay at Home Mom of 3, a Photographer, Trying to get to my Goal weight by my 29th Birthday. Come join me, any questions don't hesitate to ask.

Covered in Beer

by Thomas Cochran, Known Moron

BURN BRIGHT

writer, editor, singer, runner, and eater. the essentials.

Signatures & Introductions

A blog of names, name meanings, and appellation ruminations

gratefulrick

My journey to being myself.

Hardcore Health X

No excuses. Plenty of heart. All hands on deck. You can also check out my other blog, rattlingicecubes.wordpress.com

Amanda's Trip to Fit

From fat to fit, with some head shrinking along the way!

