RSS Feed

Success

Success is addictive. It’s like any other drug or vice out there. Now, I know that being successful and wanting more success is normally a good thing, but like any high, too much of a good thing can be bad. Apply that to weight loss and you’ll see what I’m getting at. If it’s too easy and you’re too successful, you may believe that not doing much will afford you the same results. Success can spoil a person. I’ve had it happen to me. I’ve seen it happen to other people. What I’ve come to realize is that success that is hard earned feels a lot better than success that is handed to you. What happens when I fight hard for an accomplishment is that I fight even harder to keep it. If something is easily obtained, I don’t care if I quickly lose it because I didn’t invest much effort into getting it.

What does this have to do with anything? Well, I have noticed that I’ve been very complacent and content in not doing much. The enthusiasm I had early on is wearing away. I’m finding that I have to actually resort to my desire and drive to actually continue. It’s no longer “just happening” for me. I have to work much harder than I ever did before to achieve half as much. This didn’t happen overnight. No, this has been going on for a while now and I’ve just kept sweeping it under the rug because I honestly thought that acting like it wasn’t a thing would help me. Needless to say — it hasn’t.

Am I saying that I was too successful early on? Yeah, perhaps I was. I got comfortable. I’ll use an analogy: I was the Hare in my weight loss journey when I should have been the Tortoise. Thinking I’d figured this all out, I could rest on my laurels a little bit because I was well ahead of where I thought I’d be. Failure seemed so distant and I thought that I could “take a break.” What I didn’t understand was that failure is always chasing you. It doesn’t stop. It doesn’t rest. It doesn’t sleep or eat. Failure is always just around the corner waiting for you to slip up.

In the illustration above, that’s me with the gorged stomach. That’s precisely how I’ve been about losing weight lately. The tortoise is whatever I consider to be failure. It’s too close and I’m vulnerable. I need to wake up. I need to regroup and get my act together. I’m really pissed off at myself. I don’t hate myself, but I’m on a precipice right now. I can either give in and let myself fall or I can do what I need to do and succeed the right way. I choose the latter. Here’s what my new picture will look like when I overcome whatever the heck this is:

TortoiseAndHare

 

This time, I’ll be the Tortoise. πŸ˜‰ Success is not guaranteed. It is not deserved, but rather earned. I have to remember that. Here’s to humility! πŸ™‚

In happier news, Titan was a bust! Woot! We got no snow. I’m also almost back to 100% health. I am really happy right now. πŸ˜€ I hope you’re having a marvelous Monday!

 

Until next time,

Carolina

 

Photo Sources: Here and here.

 

About carolinafitness

Determined to succeed so that I can live the healthy and happy life that I know I'm capable of. Everything else there is to know about me will be aired in the blog with time.

18 responses »

  1. Happy Monday Sunshine, ultimately the goal is happiness and great health:-) So, its totally OK to desire ABUNDANCE. YEP, you can have ALL the happiness and great health you want. WITHOUT any guilt or humility. ENJOY your fabulousness, bask in that, you deserve:-) Go CAROLINA GO!!!

    Reply
  2. Great post! I find that my motivation wavers as well and I need to focus more on getting it back πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. Seems like that complacency is going around! lol I think that it’s good to experience these hiccups once in awhile, just to keep us grounded in a solid work ethic. If it comes easy and early, like you had stated, we get the false idea that this is going to be easy.

    Reply
    • Haha! Well, if it’s going around, then I don’t feel so alone in my complacency. That’s a good thing, I suppose.
      Yes, a reality check is good from time to time. One of the worst things we can do is let success get to our heads. It makes unrelatable.
      Anyway, I agree… that false notion is hard to shake, but it has to be done.

      Reply
  4. It almost seems sometimes like complacency is brought on by fear. What is going to happen if I DO continue to lose and meet my goal. As someone who has never really reached a weight loss goal before, the closer I have gotten – the more fearful I have become. The good news is, when I break this barrier, I will have solid steel proof of what I am capable of. You will too!! Keep going!

    Reply
    • I do think I’m afraid of being successful. Perhaps I’m subconsciously self-sabatoging? I don’t know. Simply put, I don’t know who I can and will be once I reach my goal. It’s almost like being reborn.
      You’re 100% right about having proof of what you’re capable of achieving. That’s got to be an AMAZING feel. I can’t wait for you to reach that and I can’t to reach that same point too. I will keep going. Thank you for the support. You’re so AWESOME! πŸ˜€

      Reply
  5. I think the slow way is better than going on a diet that is impossible to maintain for the long run. What we do now should be what we want to keep doing in 20 years πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Oh, definitely! I don’t think I was doing anything that couldn’t be maintained, but rather that I got too comfortable and confident in myself. I agree completely with your last sentence. It should be easy only in that it should be something that we can maintain for a long time. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  6. Hey Ms. Cutie pie!!! You are seriously so gorgeous and have the best attitude!! There will be so many ups and downs in life, but I have to say, you seem to handle them so very gracefully and that’s something that should AND WILL be applauded by many!! Bravo!!!

    Reply
    • Okay, you’re officially killing me with kind words! LMAO! It’s okay though, I appreciate them all. πŸ™‚ Thank you once again for the support and encouragement. It means a lot to me that you say such lovely things. You have no idea how uplifting these words are to me. Thank you!

      Reply
  7. I hope that you feel the energy of your followers and friends. πŸ™‚ I’m waiting for your next post!!!!

    Reply

Share your thoughts

That Self Indulgent Bitch!

Stupid crap nobody really cares about but ME!

hearts on sleeves club

If you wear your heart on your sleeve, join the club.

My Fat Will Not Define Me

I am a Stay at Home Mom of 3, a Photographer, Trying to get to my Goal weight by my 29th Birthday. Come join me, any questions don't hesitate to ask.

Covered in Beer

by Thomas Cochran, Known Moron

BURN BRIGHT

writer, editor, singer, runner, and eater. the essentials.

Signatures & Introductions

A blog of names, name meanings, and appellation ruminations

gratefulrick

My journey to being myself.

Hardcore Health X

No excuses. Plenty of heart. All hands on deck. You can also check out my other blog, rattlingicecubes.wordpress.com

Amanda's Trip to Fit

From fat to fit, with some head shrinking along the way!

